Quick And Clean Dinner? Coming Right Up!

It’s one of those nights for me…..I am pressed for time, want to feed my family something nutritious  but the requirement is that is has to be healthy, quick and tasty. After all, why waste my time cooking the food if my kids won’t eat it! This is when I turn to recipes like this one:

Homemade Ezekiel Bread Chicken Nuggets
I came up with the idea for these clean nuggets one night when I was sick of eating chicken breast the same old way. We eat LOTS of chicken in our house(rather than red meat) and while most the time I can gag get it down with no problem I wanted something to tease my taste buds with that was a little different. Nuggets were the perfect idea…kids can dip them in ketchup and the hubs and I can slather them in buffalo sauce…YUM!! Only problem, I didn’t have any whole wheat bread crumbs. My mind went to work and Ta-Da, a great solution popped into my frazzled little head! I tossed a couple pieces of Ezekiel Sprouted Grain Bread into the toaster to make my own. After they were toasted I whipped them around in my food chopper and voila, the perfect clean bread crumbs.
Ingredients
  • Two to three chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • Two pieces of Ezekiel Bread, toasted
  • One or two egg whites
  • Salt, pepper, seasoning of your choice
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. 
  2. After toasting breadcrumbs, put them in a chopper or food processor and grind into a crumb consistency. Season with salt, pepper and any other seasoning to your liking.  
  3. Coat chicken pieces in egg white so crumbs will stick to chicken, then toss in bread crumbs and make sure they are well coated. You may have to press the bread crumbs into the chicken to get them to stick.
  4. Place on a cookie sheet covered with foil or a non-stick pan and cook for 15-20 minutes or until done.
*Serve alongside your favorite dipping sauce and some delicious sides. My favorites are homemade sweet potato fries and a green salad. So, there you go, a delicious and healthy dinner you can be proud to serve, in under 30 minutes!!
What is your favorite healthy and quick “go to “meal for those hectic nights?

2 Comments

Filed under Food and Recipes

2 responses to “Quick And Clean Dinner? Coming Right Up!

  1. mmm those look yummy! gonna have to try making my own chicken nuggets 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sloppy, Sloppy Joes | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

