Cruise Countdown

Today marks one month before I travel to Ft. Lauderdale to board my first ever cruise ship! I am quite excited for many reasons! First being that I have never been on a cruise. Second, I get some alone time to connect with my hubby, third I am traveling to Nassau, Bahamas and lastly, it is FREE…yep, how lucky am I!! Lance won the trip through work. Gotta love being married to a hard worker!!
As thrilled as I am to be going I sadly have to admit that I do have some reservations. #1 is mommy guilt. Sigh. As much as I try not to have it, it really affects me more often than not and this is just another occasion for it. I feel guilty for leaving my kids for a few days but what make it worse is that it is over the Halloween weekend. I will miss my kids dress up day at school and the ever popular school carnival BUT according to our itinerary we should be back in enough time to take them trick or treating. Fingers crossed for NO delays coming home because I will feel really badly if I miss trick or treat night. And for the record, I hate mommy guilt. I think it is completely unnecessary, as moms give SO MUCH to our kids but it is incredibly hard to let go of.
Reservation #2- My body. Ugh, I hate to even get on this subject but I am trying to be honest here. It isn’t that I dislike my body because truthfully, most the time I am pretty okay with it. Yes, I am always hanging on to five unwanted pounds but I do have some decent muscle tone, I am getting stronger and there are no complaints from my hubby, *wink, wink*! The majority of time I am happy as long as I am eating clean and working out. Treating my body well makes me feel good about myself…… usually. Put me on a ship with thousands of younger, non-child bearing women(did I mention this is a Bud Light Party Cruise) and I lose a little bit of confidence with my body. I mean come on, who wants to be surrounded by sexy, sculpted, breast augmented women wishing you looked just a little bit better. Not me!! This is why for the next month I will be on a mission to feel good in my own skin while basking in the beauty of the Caribbean…..and thousands of beautiful people…ha!
How am I going to achieve this mission I have set out? No crazy crash diets(as I have done in the past) and no crazy exercise routines. What I am going to do is really focus on keeping my eating clean, sticking to the basics like lean meats, egg whites, oats, and LOTS of fresh veggies. I enjoy all these foods but what I like even more is how I feel and look when I consistently stick to this diet!
As for my workouts, I will be keeping them just as consistent as my eating and I will be hitting them hard. I won’t be working out for hours a day but I will give myself one good solid hour 4-6 times per week to build strong muscle and sweat my booty off to a smaller and more firm size!I was doing the   Jamie Eason Live Fit Trainer but it is a 12 week program and right now I don’t feel like I can really commit to it. It is an awesome program though and I do plan on getting back to it once this vacation is over! Until then, this is what is on the agenda for my workouts:

Workout #1: Full body workout with a focus on legs

Workout #2 Full body workout with focus on chest, shoulders and back
*30 minutes steady state cardio
 Workout #3 Full body workout with a focus on  biceps and triceps

*30 minutes of steady state cardio

I will also have at two or three more days of cardio during the week that will consist of running outside as that is something that I enjoy so much during the Fall!
See, no crazy routines, just a solid workout plan that ANYONE can do, regardless of whether you just want to get healthy or want to step it up to look and feel great for a special occasion! While a crash diet is very tempting, I know that the results are very short lived and would just leave me feeling down and not good about myself.  
I am very realistic and I know I will not reach fitness model status in just one month but that is A-OK and not my goal. I want to board that ship and feel good about ME and how I have cared for my body. The countdown is on….here we go!!!
Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness

Leave a Reply

