It’s VEGGIE Time

For those who know me, not being a big meat-eater will come as no big surprise. I am the person who goes to a fancy steakhouse and often orders a bunch of delicious side dishes rather than a bloody juicy steak. What can I say, I make a pretty cheap date;)!

Do I like meat or think it tastes good? Sometimes. I have my food moments when nothing sounds better than a greasy cheeseburger or a good old fashioned BLT but those are very rare occasions. I honestly am not sure WHY I don’t like meat all that much. It really isn’t because I am a huge animal rights activist. I mean, I love animals but I do think some of them were made to be eaten.  For me, I believe it just comes down to preference in taste and texture of my food AND I am easily grossed out so even a touch of fat or blood will put a quick end to my meal. I must also mention that I have digestive issues and I find the less meat I consume, especially red meat the better I feel in general.

I do eat meat and usually daily, mostly in the form of chicken and turkey and while I don’t think I will ever CRAVE those two foods, I feel pretty comfortable eating them most the time. They are lean, filling and from a meat eaters view, pretty nutritious for the body.

Here is the thing, I doubt I could ever go 100% vegetarian(and VEGAN will NEVER happen…this girl loves her cheese and yogurt) but I do think I can cut back on it considerably. What I want to do for myself and possibly my family if they are open to it(and if they want to eat, they will be!!!), is implement one day per week of vegetarian meals into our menu. I believe this will be beneficial for more than one reason.

1. It will be a good cleansing day for our bodies. Not only will we not eat meat but I want the vegetarian meals to be filled with whole foods and no processed junk. That means no meat substitutes or processed cheese pizzas. We all know that vegetables are healthy and fiber filled so knowing that I am putting good nutritious food into my family’s body is incredible. Yea to health!!

2. We will be doing our part on impacting the environment in a good way. As a nation, I truly believe we consume WAY too much meat and while we will still be eating it most days of the week, I like the idea of helping in any way I can.

3. Meat can be $$$$$!!! This is a great way to save money. I find myself complaining that organic is expensive but the money I am saving on my meatless meal will allow me to purchase organic milk and eggs for the week instead. Score!!

I have dabbled with the idea of being vegetarian for years and while I am nowhere ready to live that lifestyle 100% I think this is the perfect opportunity to simply add more veggies and beans and less meat to my diet.  In doing this, I also want to make it a fun part of my blog so I am deeming the one day per week that my family eats vegetarian as “Meatless Monday”! My hope is to share with you one(or more) wonderful recipes for that day to possibly help inspire you to eat a little less meat, too!!

ource: imdb.com via Alyssa on Pinterest

If you have not seen the documentary, “Forks Over Knives”, I highly suggest it. It is very informative and gives great information and explanations as to why a plant based diet is best for health benefits. One of my favorite bloggers, Kristine Fretwell, at www.busybuthealthy.com watched it this weekend and after reading her blog and thoughts on it, she inspired me to do the same.

Do you have a favorite vegetarian meal?  If so, please share what it is! I am always looking for and excited to try new recipes!

1 Comment

Filed under Food and Recipes

One response to “It’s VEGGIE Time

  1. Pingback: Flexitarian Diet and WIAW #10 | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

