Showing Appreciation and Fit Tip Tuesday

It is Teacher Appreciation week at my daughter’s school so each day we will be doing something nice for her teacher to show how grateful we are for her. She has been blessed with a beyond wonderful teacher this year and honestly, we could never truly show enough appreciation! Yesterday it was McDonald’s breakfast. Today is write a note/make a card day. These types of “gifts” are my favorite, especially when they come from small children because they really come from the heart.  The innocence and love that children are willing to put out there without embarrassment or a filter is so sweet! Here is the card Camryn made for her teacher…….

You are a nice teacher but that is not all. You help me a lot. I love you.

Ahhhhhh!!!

Fit Tip Tuesday

I thought it would be fun to start a offering a weekly FIT TIP on my blog! The tips will pertain to all things fitness…..workouts, healthy eating and mental health(I can always use these…). They will be short and sweet and to the point! Ready for the first one?! Here goes:

* If you are unable to fit a full workout into your schedule, break them up into several 10 minute sessions. You still get the benefit of burning calories, building muscle and stress release without feeling overwhelmed or crunched for time! Now what are you waiting for…set your timer and GO!!

WORKOUT OF THE DAY

You will see that my workout week is split largely between my home and the gym. I really think you can get a great workout in at either place BUT the gym does seem to offer less distraction for me because I still have a little one at home. However, he is also what makes it hard to get to the gym some days. Like today for instance. He was not ready to get out of his PJ’s and while I could have given him no choice, I decided to pick my battle and create a home workout instead. With the help of Oxygen magazine I came up with a great full body circuit that took about 40 minutes to complete.

This is the December 2011 issue

For this circuit all I needed was a couple sets of weights( I used 10’s and 15’s) and an exercise ball. I also used my elliptical for a little extra cardio but you could do jumping jacks, jump rope or any other cardio moves as an alternative.

I did this circuit two times through but you could do a third for a more advanced workout!

5 minute warmup on elliptical

Dumbbell Squat 12-15 reps

Lying Dumbbell press on ball 12-15 reps

Lateral raise 12 reps

Seated alternating dumbbell curl 10-12 reps

Lunge with hop or front kick 10 reps each leg

Upright dumbbell row  12-15 reps

Stiff-legged deadlift, 12 reps

21’s, 7 low, 7 mid, 7 full curls

Dumbbell flye, 12 reps

Sumo Squat, 12-15 reps

Bent over lateral raise, 10-12 reps

Single arm dumbbell row, 10-12 reps

Lying hip thrusts, 15 reps

REPEAT

* I then finished my workout off with a 10 minute elliptical workout, increasing resistance with each minute.

Do you prefer to workout at the gym or at home? Tell me why?

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Fitness

2 responses to “Showing Appreciation and Fit Tip Tuesday

  1. christacarol

    I wish I were more of an at home type but I only seem to be motivated when at the gym…ug! Great tip!

    • I am usually more motivated at the gym but some days it just seems easier to get it done at home. Those are the days I am usually too lazy to drive…ha!

Leave a Reply

