My Colorful New Purchase

I am already thinking about my lunch today. That’s because I am having leftovers from an “oh so PERFECT” Summer dinner!

Texas Summers can be downright smoldering so the last thing I want to do is turn on the oven and heat the house up even MORE. This is when I am thankful for easy, simple but DELICIOUS dinners that can be thrown together in 20 minutes or less.

Even better when you find the recipe on the back of a pasta box! While I was grocery shopping this weekend I came across this new pasta from Ronzoni.

After taking a quick glance at the needed ingredients I stuck it in my cart and was off to find the other needed items! I wish meal planning could always be this easy:-)!

I prefer my pasta salad to be served chilled so while I stuck it in the fridge to let all the flavors meld, the hubby went to work grilling chicken breasts for some extra added protein.

Looks GOOD, doesn’t it?!

It doesn’t just LOOK good but it TASTES good too!!I am a fast eater(hate that) and this was gone in no time so I helped myself to a tiny little portion of seconds. Ahem….well, maybe not that tiny;-)

And just for fun, I caught the hubby mid-bite!! Doesn’t it look like he is saying “Ummmmm, good?” Okay, maaaybe it looks like he is saying”What the heck are you doing?”

RECIPE

Adapted from Ronzoni

Mediterranean Veggie  Salad

Ingredients

1 package Ronzoni Garden Delight Trio Italiano(or any tri-color pasta)

Sliced Salami, cut into strips

1/2 cup feta cheese

1/4 cup black pitted ripe olives, quartered(I also added some extra whole olives)

3/4 cup Greek or Italian salad dressing

Directions

Cook pasta according to directions on package. Drain well and rinse with cold water. In a large bowl, mix pasta, salami, olives and cheese. Add dressing and toss until evenly coated. Chill in refrigerator for 1 hour or desired amount of time.

Serve as a main dish or as a side. Most importantly, ENJOY!

Remember how I said I made an awesome purchase this weekend?

I have been searching for a while for a nice piece of furniture to add to my dining area but I had a hard time finding something that stood out to me. Sure, I saw some nice pieces but I was looking for something with character and something that not everyone had in their home.

Finally I found what I was looking for, courtesy of Craigslist!.  A buffet! Not just any buffet but a YELLOW one with a bit of distressing. Just like some of the items I have been coveting on Pinterest.

Now, I am no decorator. It actually stresses me out because I just don’t have that knack for putting things together and making them flow. I almost always need an example to make it work. But I took a chance and I am glad that I did. It took a day (and a few added decorations) for it to grow on me but now I am SUPER DUPER pleased with it!!!!

What do ya think? I promise not to care if you don’t love it. I know yellow isn’t for everyone!!

WORKOUT

Since I have taken almost a week off the workout train I am going to go with something simple but effective. My good friend and personal trainer, Jillian Michaels(I can pretend, right) is whipping me into shape today!! 30 Day Shred(level 2) and 15 minutes on the elliptical will round out my morning quite nicely. Ready, set……here I go!!!!!

Do you consider yourself to be a decorator or are you decorating challenged like myself?

2 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food and Recipes, recipes, Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Colorful New Purchase

  1. love love love Ronzoni pasta!!!! secondly – where the hell is lance & who is this hairy beast 🙂

    • HaHa!!! I like the hairy beast look!! They are having a “Save Water” promotion at work so they were able to grow a beard for two weeks. I think it has to come off on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

