Low Fat Banana Oat Bread

I hope y’all had a wonderful weekend!! I sure did.

Let me re-cap my exciting weekend for you. Let’s see, there was grocery shopping, barbie playing, book reading, movie watching, a little pool time and some baking. Doesn’t that just SCREAM exciting, ha!!! As boring as it may sound to some, I pretty much enjoy weekends like that. It is a nice little bonding time for my family AND I get a little break for things like reading! My husband is great, he let me lock the bedroom door and read in bed for two hours-no interruptions. Hugs to my hubby!!!

While you may not find my weekend activities something to get excited about, I do have a mouth watering recipe to share!! I had a couple brown bananas sitting on my counter and while those are perfect for freezing for smoothies I had an itch to bake so I came up with modified version of a Bethenny Frankel recipe.

By the way, does anyone love Bethenny as much as I do? Seriously, I LOVE her(and her products)and I know we could be the best of friends…..if only I had the chance to meet her! But since I am a realist and don’t see that happening anytime soon, the next best thing will be watching her new daytime talk show which premiers today at 1pm. I am beyond excited.

Okay, I’m done with my random Bethenny love fest……back to the banana bread! After gathering up my needed ingredients, I started working away!

Ready

Set……Into the oven you go!!

I think one of the best parts of baking is the way your house smells while the goods are cooking. Better than any air freshener!!

LOW FAT BANANA OAT BREAD

Ingredients

  • 1 whole egg, 1 egg white
  • 2 very ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce(1 snack pack container)
  • 3/4 cup turbinado sugar(Sugar in the Raw)
  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 3/4 cup spelt(or whole wheat) flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees .Combine dry ingredients in a medium size bowl and wet ingredients in a larger bowl. Slowly mix the dry ingredients into the larger bowl with the wet ingredients. Combine well. Line a loaf pan with parchment paper and grease lightly to keep bread from sticking. Pour batter into loaf pan and cook for 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool and slice into pieces.

Or, you can do like I did and steal a piping hot end piece(my fave!!!) and top with some peanut butter. Oh, YES!!!! It was worth burning my little fingers 😉

I made the bread on Saturday evening so we enjoyed it for a snack that evening but really dug into in for Sunday morning breakfast.

Served up with two eggs and some peach slices. I topped it with some of the delicious Dark Chocolate Dreams, Peanut Butter & Co peanut butter than I’m including in my giveaway. This breakfast could have totally been the highlight of my weekend. Goodness, I do love food!!

Are you a banana fan? What is your favorite food that has banana in it or do you prefer to just peel and eat?

5 Comments

June 11, 2012 · 12:56 PM

5 responses to “Low Fat Banana Oat Bread

  1. Yum!! It looks so good I just want to lick the computer! LOL I love pb and banana sandwiches (but I don’t have that often!) I usually just eat the banana, or add it to my oatmeal.

  2. Erin

    Any ideas on the calories per slice? I am OBSESSED with banana bread…the taste, the smell…the BATTER, I just love it. But I don’t make it because I usually end up eating too much…I have a pretty good “lower calorie” recipe…but always looking for others!!

    • A good estimate, if cut into 10 slices is about 170 calories per slice. Of course it will depend on the size of your bananas and brand of ingredients. They are pretty good size slices, too!

  3. Sam

    I love your blog, Suz! Keep up the yummy healthy posts! By the way have you tried quinoa?

Leave a Reply

