Diets Don’t Work

I had to remind myself of that this morning when I stepped on the scale and saw that the number had gone up by a few pounds. Normally, I wouldn’t worry about a 3 to 4 pound weight gain. It could easily be my body retaining water from eating salty foods, lifting heavier than normal weights or hormonal fluctuations. While these may be contributing factors I had to face the music, I have put on a bit of weight and it has happened gradually over the last couple months.

After seeing the number on the scale my very first thought was, “What can I do to get this weight off, quick?” Meaning: Which diet is going to work the best!! My second thought was, ” Come on, Suzanne, you know that  DIETS DON’T WORK!“.  Trust me, I have tried SO many of them. Counting points, eliminating carbs, restricting calories and obsessing over them throughout the day and all that has done is left me feeling miserable, cranky and bad about myself. On top of that, most of them are NOT attainable for long term use. I don’t want to diet, I want to LIVE!!

Thankfully with a few “Rules” from none other then my idol, Bethenny Frankel, I know I will be back to my fighting weight in no time. And the best part, I will feel good about myself while doing it. I am not going to go into a full review of Bethenny’s book, “Naturally Thin” but I will share her “rules”(more like implementing common sense into your life) with you.

Basically, I will be focusing on balance, moderation, staying away from trigger foods and NOT allowing myself to eat when I am not hungry. That’s a big one for me. Let’s face it, I love food. So I will eat it and I will enjoy it. And I will stop when I am satisfied. 🙂

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Workout of the Day

Let me catch you up a bit on yesterday’s Crossfit WOD.

Another good one and I was struggling to get through the last set. Probably because my chest/arms/shoulders were so tight from doing the 100 pushup challenge on Monday. Man, that was HARD!

WOD # 7

4 Rounds for time

15 burpees

25 squats

35 pushups

Final time: 13:39

WOD #8 calls for rest so while I will not be doing a Crossfit workout, I am going to get my cardio on. I am a bit undecided on what to do but the requirement is it must be fun so I am debating between a Zumba video or maybe Turbo Jam. Hmmmm?

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

And now I will leave with you with a few pictures from yesterday’s fun 4th of July festivities.

A little bit of everything plate. Spicy corn dip, guacamole, coleslaw, beans, shredded taco chicken, and watermelon and goat cheese salad. Yum!!

Festive fruit pizza. I may or may not have had a little too much of this.

There were some fierce games of water volleyball being played yesterday. I quickly learned I pretty much sucked at it! I had to stand on my tippy toes the entire time which makes it pretty much impossible to get good any good shots.However, I am naming my hubby as the VIP. He’s pretty darn good at it 🙂

Us.

How do you measure weight gain? Do you use a scale or the jeans test?

When you need to lose a few pounds do you go on a hard core diet or try to make small changes?

What is your number one tip for getting back to your happy weight?

8 Comments

Filed under Books, Family, Fitness, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Diets Don’t Work

  1. Min

    Hi, Suzanne! I’ve actually stayed away from my scale for a very very long time! I’m so glad I did. However, I don’t need to weigh myself to know that I’ve put on some much needed Ibs. Let’s just say I need a whole new wardrobe!
    This might not make any sense, but here it goes… I feel fine with not being able to fit into my pants. However, I won’t be fine if I stepped on the scale that indicated to me in NUMBERS that I’ve indeed gained the weight. I guess it’s all the history of being so obsessed with numbers.

    I’m glad that you overcame your initial thoughts and reminded yourself that NO! Diets don’t work!! :). Awesome!

    • As long as you feel comfortable in the body you are in, it shouldn’t matter what the scale says.I don’t use the scale as my ONLY guide but when my pants are feeling snug and the number is going up, that is a true sign that action needs to be taken, lol!

  2. You are amazing… Seriously…I have a big ole’ story that i won’t get into in the comments of your blog, about weightloss, health and what have you… Suffice it to say- you are amazing.
    I should check her out. (Bethenny)

    • You are sweet! I have been on the weight loss/diet roller coaster many more times in my life than I care to admit. Just in the last year, I have to realize how diets truly do not work and in the process I have started loving myself so much more!! Diets can be nasty little things if you are in the wrong frame of mind.

  3. Pingback: 110 Calories of DE-LICIOUS | Fit Minded Mom

  4. Pingback: National Exercise with your Child Week +WIAW #8 | Fit Minded Mom

  5. Pingback: Giveaway: Got milk?Magic Milk Straws | Fit Minded Mom

  6. Pingback: Hard to Breathe | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

