From A to Z

It’s a Monday and it’s back to reality. My husband is headed off to work which means that vacation is over and it is back to the daily grind! We had a  glorious week for sure! Sleeping in, family activities, birthday cake and so much more. Weeks like that are where family memories are made!!!

Want a piece of Justin Bieber?!

 I’ve decided to slowly ease my way back into the week by having a little fun on the blog today. We have all seen the questionnaire type surveys that circulate around the internet. Well, I have another one coming at you today!! This one, created by Janetha over at Meals and Moves offers up some A to Z fun!!

Here we go!!

A is for age: 34 years young!!

B is for breakfast today: Coffee and a sweet wheat Alternative bagel topped with peanut butter, almond butter(on the other slice), sliced banana and chia seeds. So good!

C is for currently craving: Healthy, clean food!! A week of indulgences will do that to you!!

D is for dinner tonight: BBQ Chicken Quinoa Bowl. This excites me because I know everyone in my house will gobble it right up. The Riley household is full of quinoa lovers!!

E is for favorite type of exercise: Dance! I love dancing, whether it be on a dance floor of a night club(as if that has happened in FOR-EVER!!) or in a fitness room doing some Zumba. It is a great calorie burner but I am never focused on that part of it. It is just plain FUN!! Too bad I don’t partake in it nearly enough. I think it is time to head to a Zumba class, stat!!

F is for an irrational fear: Snakes. More specifically, one of my children or myself being bitten by one. I have even looked up how to best care for snake bite victims just in case it happens. Seriously, I have obsessed over it. Living in Texas with rattlesnakes all around I really don’t know how irrational it is but it is definitely a giant fear.

G is for gross food: I’m really not a picky eater at all but there are a couple things that gross me out a bit. Mostly processed meats such as hot dogs, bologna, and bratwurst. What is in bratwurst that makes it so fatty and grissly anyway? Gag. Other than that I would say raisins. Add raisins to a cookie or my favorite, carrot cake and you ruin a perfectly good dessert.

H is for hometown: Wichita Falls, Texas. Mostly, I am just glad not to call it home anymore. I don’t want to offend anyone who currently lives there so I won’t bash it but I will say, it just wasn’t the place for me. Happy to have moved on to bigger and better places 🙂

I is for something important: This is a no brainer. My family. They are the most important thing in the world to me. Call me a cheese-ball but as long as I have them, nothing else matters!!

J is for current favorite jam: I’m Wide Awake.

Yeah, I was in the dark
I was falling hard
With an open heart
I’m wide awake 

I’m blaming this one on my daughter since she insisted we go see the Katy Perry movie this weekend. It’s a catchy little tune for sure. It will change soon though. I get sick of songs quickly because they are so overplayed on the radio.

K is for kids: I have two of the cutest little munchkins, ever! And a fur baby, too. My 10 year old Boston named Ozzy.

L is for current location: At my house which is located in Weatherford, Texas. It is a great place to be!!

M is for the most recent way you spent money: Other than the Sonic run for a diet cherry limeade this afternoon, it would be money spent on my daughter’s 7th birthday party at Build A Bear. We had a “beary” good time!!

N is for something you need: Alone time!! The majority of the time I consider myself to be a people person. I love my friendships and enjoy spending my time with others but some quality time with just me, myself and I is a requirement, otherwise I become quite the cranky lady. It is hard to unwind when you are worried about entertaining others, ya know!!

O is for occupation: Stay at home mom. Which also = Maid, taxi, nurse, teacher, referee, chef and so much more!

P is for pet peeve: Tardiness. What can I say, I am always super prompt and I kind of wish everyone else was as well. Funny thing is, most of my really close friends are NEVER on time. I have grown to accept it and look at it as a nice surprise when they are on time/early!!

Q is for a quote: There are so many I love. Sometimes when I need motivation or inspiration I will just go online and browse through different quotes. Sometimes they are fitness and diet related and other times they are just about life in general. Here is one that always serves as a good reminder:

“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.”

R is for random fact about you: Hmmmm….okay, I’ve got one! I was born on the same date as my grandfather. My husband was also born on his grandfather’s birthday and my son was born on his great-grandfather’s birthday. Pretty neat, huh!!

S is for favorite healthy snack: Greek yogurt!! It is creamy and delicious tasting and packs a nice little protein punch. Even better topped with fresh fruit and a little granola.

T is for favorite treat: This one is hard!! Depends on what I am craving but I will almost never turn down a DQ blizzard. With extra Butterfinger, please!

U is for something that makes you unique: This one is easy. Just being ME!! We don’t need something that makes us unique, we just ARE!!

V is for favorite vegetable: Sweet potatoes. I will take them baked, mashed, or turned into fries. Top them with butter, brown sugar or give them to me plain. Yum!!

W is for today’s workout: I have started a new weight lifting program(more to come on that in a few days) and today is supposed to be a rest day. However, I am going to sneak in a little cardio. I will alternate 5 minutes of jumping rope with 5 minutes on the elliptical for a total of 25 minutes. This weekends birthday cake isn’t going to work itself off….sadly. 😦

X is for X-rays you’ve had: Do sonograms count? I have only had my teeth x-rayed but I have had lots of sono’s when growing my babies and also on my gall bladder a couple of times.

Y is for yesterday’s highlight: Yesterday was pretty low key. I am going to say some much needed rain that came through our area and cooled the temps down a bit. It also made for some really good napping weather. You didn’t think I would skip my beloved weekend nap, did you?

Z is for your time zone: Central Standard Time

I hope y’all will join in on the A to Z fun and pick a couple letters to share some interesting info about yourself. I don’t know about you but I love getting to know about other people which is one of the many reasons I enjoy reading blogs.  It keeps life interesting!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Motivation

Leave a Reply

