What I Ate Wednesday # 5

Happy Hump Day! I cannot believe we have already made it to the middle of the week. You won’t hear any complaints from me!!

It’s a camp day for my kids so that means I have five whole hours to myself. I’m doing the happy dance over here :-)!!
I think I am going to take this opportunity to do a little bargain shopping. I feel the need for a new outfit but my funds are limited so I am going to hit up Marshall’s and maybe TJ Maxx. Here is to hoping that the frugal fashion fairy is on my side today!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WIAW # 5

I sure hope you are ready to see my eats from yesterday because I know I am ready to share!

Breakfast

I am feeling quite proud of myself because I finally remembered to take a picture of my morning cup of joe! Just looking at this beautiful cup of coffee makes me happy. And yep, I am one of those people who like a little coffee with their cream!!

After my coffee I helped myself to a cup of Life cereal topped with sliced strawberries and bananas. Honestly, it looks pretty but wasn’t the best tasting. The cereal got soggy pretty quickly.

Morning Snack
A handful of veggie straws with a tablespoon of hummus was just enough to keep me happy until lunch time.

Lunch

Since we are trying to stop wasting food in our house(we have been bad about throwing out perfectly good food) I dug into some leftovers from last night. Lots of black beans, a little bit of quinoa and a bit of creamy avocado. Filling and wonderful tasting!

Afternoon snack

I had planned on taking the kids to a splash pad to play this afternoon and thought a nice cold iced coffee would be the perfect way to deal with the Summer heat. Good thing I got it because the splash pad was closed but we did manage to find a playground to have fun at.

The coldness of the iced coffee didn’t last long so we hit the pool as soon as we got home. I don’t know about you but swimming makes me HUN-GRY!! I devoured another handful of veggie straws which I don’t have a picture of because I wasn’t about to stop to get the camera! I did get a picture of this lovely nectarine, though.

Dinner

I wasn’t in the mood to whip up a fancy dinner tonight but I did want something filling and healthy so I came up with this. Grilled chicken breast, broccoli and corn of the cob.

While dinner was very good, it left my taste buds craving something a little more.ย  I am proud to announceย  that I am no longer a banana soft serve virgin!! This stuff was incredible!!! My kids gobbled it right up and asked for another serving.ย  Whoa kiddos….let’s save it for another day ๐Ÿ™‚

A delicious food day if I do say so myself!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Workout

I have pretty much come to accept that I am not going to be hitting the gym much this Summer. My schedule is off and that is fine but it doesn’t mean I want to let my fitness fall to the way side. Working out is essential for my mental health and while I enjoy cardio, I need a little weight lifting in my life, too.

Enter my new workout regimen: Chalean Extreme.

This is a DVD series that I have had for a good while. I tried it once before but I wasn’t at a place in my life that I wanted to commit to it. I was more into running at that time and any weight lifting I did was generally at the gym. However, I now find myself at a place where it is a perfect fit!!

I have completed the first two workouts of the three month series and if those are an indication of how the workouts will be, I AM GONNA LOVE IT!! I am sore in so many places but it feels GOOD! Even better the workouts are very manageable time-wise, being 30-40 minutes in length. Perfect!

I will be doing the first cardio workout of the program today so I will let y’all in on how I like that tomorrow. Until then……..

Do you eat leftovers or do you tend to toss them?

Have you tried banana soft serve? Do you like it as a substitute for ice cream?

Have you completed a home workout series? Did you see results?

9 Comments

Filed under Fitness, WIAW

9 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday # 5

  1. Ah, 5 hours to yourselff!!! Go get yourself a hot new outfitt ๐Ÿ™‚

    **I use to hateee leftovers, but within the past year or so I sometimes actually prefer them. I’ll do whatever I can to save good food for the day after or so.

    Love banana soft serve. My mom ordered me a “Yonana” for my birthday since it doesn’t exist here in Kuwait. I cannot wait for it to get here!

    Enjoy your day ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Kammie

    I love banana soft serve — the best dessert and it’s so healthy ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Hard Boiled 101 | Fit Minded Mom

  4. caloricandcrazy

    That dessert looks perfect! Choco chips and sprinkles make everything better ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: Let’s Talk Coffee | Fit Minded Mom

  6. Pingback: WIAW #7 + Deck of Cards Workout | Fit Minded Mom

  7. Pingback: The Riley Express | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

