Cottage Cheese Protein Pancakes

Hey, Hey, Hey!!!

This morning, I am going to get straight to it and let you in on a new pancake recipe that I tried last weekend and hope to make again this morning.

Pancakes are definitely one of my favorite breakfast foods but I usually only eat them when I am treating myself. Let’s face it, they aren’t exactly a healthy food, especially when topped with butter and syrup….until now!!

Last Sunday, I had a craving for pancakes but I didn’t really want to start off my day with something so calorie laden and heavy, especially since I had already completed a workout that morning. No way did I want to ruin all my hard work!!

I have a couple recipes in my files for “protein” pancakes but most of them require a processed protein powder of some sort and I am not here to lie……pancakes are just not pancakes with protein powder in them. I don’t care what anyone says. It.Is.Not.The.Same!!! I love the idea of added protein but I still want them to taste good!!

After searching around on the internet, I found a recipe that looked quite fabulous at Weelicious. After checking out the ingredients, I realized I could whip them up in no time and have a delicious AND healthy pancake breakfast!!! Score!! I did make a couple changes but nothing drastic…..just some minor changes in ingredients and amounts.

Original Recipe adapted from Weelicious.


Cottage Cheese Protein Pancakes

makes approximately 10-12 pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 egg, 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup 1% cottage cheese
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 cup oat flour(I used oats and ground in a food chopper)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • butter or oil for pan

Directions

  • Put eggs, cottage cheese, vanilla and honey in a bowl and mix.
  • In a separate bowl, mix the remaining ingredients.
  • Combine wet and dry ingredients together and stir.(I put them in my magic bullet to easily combine)
  • Heat a skillet or griddle over medium heat and lightly coat with butter or cooking spray.
  • To test when pan is ready add drops of water and wait for them to sizzle and disappear.
  •  Once skillet is ready, add two tablespoons of mixture for each pancake and cook 1-2 minutes on each side until pancakes are set and golden brown.

I served my pancakes with the toppings of almond butter, chia seeds and a tablespoon of fancy grade pure Vermont maple syrup. Wow….that stuff will take any pancake to a whole new level!!

** On a side note,  I am super excited to share when and how I received the syrup in just a few days. Stayed tuned for that….you won’t want to miss!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Tomorrow I leave for Baton Rouge and I feel my mommy anxiety starting to set in. Why does this happen to mom’s? We give so much of ourselves to our kiddos but when it comes time for a little “me time”, we start feeling a bit of guilt. At least I know I do. I know my husband will do a wonderful job of taking care of them but probably not as good as I do it ;-). I keep reminding myself that I will only NOT see them for ONE day. Sheesh…one day is no big deal. I will see them tomorrow morning and I will be back Sunday evening. I can do this….even when their little faces are crumpled with tears. Seriously, little kids know how to get you where it counts. Okay, time to sigh and breathe………..

If you will, send  some positive, no anxiety, no guilt vibes my way. It is MUCH appreciated 🙂

What is your favorite breakfast food?

Do you experiment to “clean up” some of your favorite non-healthy foods?

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Food and Recipes, recipes

4 responses to “Cottage Cheese Protein Pancakes

  1. writingisl0ve

    I’ve had a variation of these before and they are delicious!! I had been on some form of the Atkins diet for two months, and I was craving pancakes. So I found (on Pinterest!) a recipe like this one, except it had less ingredients. (cream cheese, eggs, and one packet of splenda) Love finding new recipes to make old ones healthy 🙂

  2. I love me some cottage cheese! Not sure in pancakes though?

Leave a Reply

