A Weekend Away

Here it is, Monday morning and my wonderful weekend away is already behind me.

Why is it that when you are anticipating a trip, time seems to draaaaag by and as soon as you reach your destination time flies like no other?! Granted, it was a short weekend trip but even if I had made it a week long getaway it would have seemed like only a couple days. I guess what they say is true, time flies when you are having fun!!

And fun was had!! Even if it was in a laid back, relax all weekend kind of way. I feel like I should fib a little bit and talk about how Stephenie,(my best friend) and I lived it up all weekend….going out partying, staying up until 2am and sleeping in until 12pm but honestly, that sounds like the farthest thing from fun in my eyes. Rather, it was just a laid back, no expectations kind of fun!! The BEST kind in my opinion!!

Come along, let me give you a look into my weekend!!

After a two hour flight delay and many huffy puffy sighs from myself I finally made it to Baton Rouge. Yes, I am one of those annoying people who show their impatience through sighing. Real mature, I know!! Just be glad I am not showing you my text messages sent to my friend in waiting…ha!! After a little retail therapy, Stephenie and I headed to grab a bite to eat and back to her house to watch the opening ceremony of the Olympics.

With wine of course……….

On Saturday we had plans to get pedi’s in the morning and then head over to The Melting Pot in the evening.

Pretty Toes!

Once we were done with our pedicures, we both realized how hungry we were, being that it was 1:30 in the afternoon and no breakfast had been consumed that day. Oops. No problem…we just headed to a little Mexican restaurant and split an order of beef fajitas and a basket of chips and salsa. We thought we were being smart by sharing but I think we might have gone overboard on the chips. We were Full with a capital F!!

I didn’t get pictures of the food but I did get some portraits of us. These were taken specifically for the purpose of practicing our “fake” smiles. Come on, you know you have one, too ๐Ÿ™‚

Sadly, we never did make it to The Melting Pot. We still don’t know what it was about our Mexican food lunch but it left us full to the point of MISERY and I promise, we didn’t eat THAT much!!! On a TMI note, we were both quite burpy all evening and couldn’t even fathom forcing any food down our throats. Instead, we rented The Vow withย  Channing Tatum and dined on his hotness instead!!!

Since we missed our much anticipated dinner at The Melting Pot we decided the next best thing would be a delicious brunch to fill our bellies before I had to head to the airport to come home. After much research we decided on a place called, Mason’s Grill. When we arrived it was mega busy so we figured we had hit the jackpot as far as good food was concerned!

After looking over the menu I decided on the Belgian waffle and egg plate served with choice of a side item. I chose the fried grit cake filled with jalapenos and cheese.

Looks pretty darn good, right?!

While it was not a bad meal, it also wasn’t the best. I was pretty disappointed because I was expecting it to be something special with all the hype it seemed to have received. The grit cake lacked flavor and my waffle wasn’t fluffy like I am used to. I guess I can’t complain too much because it did fill the belly and their eggs were actually quite delicious.

Shortly after brunch, it was time to get my rear to the airport but not before we took some parting pictures……

My goofy self ๐Ÿ˜‰

And for a real one…..

As you can see, I had a great weekend!! It was far from the kind of fun we had 10 years ago but I wouldn’t trade my life now for all the freedom in the world. I may only get one weekend a year to be “kid-less” but I would have it no other way. As much as I enjoyed every second of the weekend with Stephenie there is no joy that will ever compare with seeing my husband and kids after a couple of days away from them!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

With a weekend full of food indulgences, I am more than ready to get a few days of healthy eating under my belt. As much as I enjoy a good splurge meal here and there, multiple days of eating badly just leave me feeling terrible!!

Here is to a day full of fruits and veggies and some good old fashioned sweaty exercise!!!! Yep, I am talking about you, jump rope circuit!! Obviously, I didn’t work it into my weekend plans but I am not letting myself off that easy!!

Are you a patient person or do you find yourself more on the impatient side like myself?

6 Comments

Filed under Family

6 responses to “A Weekend Away

  1. I lovee mexican restaurants, but find myself getting full off of chips & salsa before the meal even arrives.. ohh & maybe one or two margaritas :). Glad y’all had such a great time, even if your flight was delayed & you not being able to do The Melting Pot.

    I think for the most part I’m pretty patient, but there has definitely been times where I just wanna scream @ people.

  2. LOVE Mexican food ๐Ÿ™‚

    FYI, I don’t really think The Melting Pot is that good…

  3. Pingback: Ouch!! | Fit Minded Mom

  4. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #16 | Fit Minded Mom

  5. Pingback: It’s a Beauty! | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

