WIAW #7 + Deck of Cards Workout

Welcome to another edition of What I Ate Wednesday!!! It is hard to believe I have been participating in this weekly event for 7 weeks now. It is also hard to believe that July has come and gone! Not to fret, we still have a couple months of Summer left, at least in my neck of the woods. 🙂 Speaking of Summer, I love that the theme for this month’s WIAW is all about Summer Staples because I actually have a few of my own in my eats from yesterday.

As always, I want to thank Jen at Peas and Crayons for hosting because without her, we wouldn’t be able to participate in this fun together:-)!!

Alrighty, Sunshines….ready to get started?!

Breakfast– I am using a recycled picture today because I totally had a brain fart(did I really just use that word…gross!!) this morning and devoured my overnight oats without snapping a picture. I notice a theme here….I do this a little too often. What can I say, I get excited when I am around delicious food. 🙂

I love to eat oats for breakfast all year long but cold oatmeal is definitely a Summer staple, especially after finishing up a sweaty weight lifting session.

My breakfast this morning, minus the coconut.

 Overnight oats seem to keep me full all morning so when I eat them I usually have no desire for a morning snack, as was the case this morning. No biggie cause I had a super yummy and filling lunch waiting for me!!

Lunch– Leftovers from last nights dinner made a wonderful lunch for today. I am not always a fan of leftovers but that wasn’t the case today. The flavors in this got even better as it sat overnight!! This was a combo of veggie macaroni, smoked turkey sausage, cauliflower and peas all mixed up with a creamy sun dried tomato and basil laughing cow cheese wedge. I couldn’t help myself and added a bit of parmesan as well.  SO GOOD!!

My kids and I headed out to Home Depot yesterday afternoon to pick out some paint samples for the upcoming painting I will be doing and it just happened to be at the same time as Sonic Happy Hour. I am quite aware that soda does not really fit into a healthy lifestyle but I  won’t sit here and tell you that I don’t like them. Because I do. I really do. And I drink them sometimes.

Snack– Today I went with a Diet Cherry Limeade with extra diet cherry. Speaking of Summer Staples, nothing quite says Summer time like a Cherry Limeade. Light and refreshing with a nice twist of citrus and fruit. Yummy!!!

When we got home I helped myself to a handful of dry roasted peanuts to keep me happy until dinner time.

Dinner time- There wasn’t anything especially exciting about this meal tonight but it was good……except for the salad. I picked up a mix of spinach and arugala at the store this weekend and quickly learned that I don’t much care for arugala. I ate it but will not buy it again. My poor kids spit it out upon tasting it. Fail. At least they liked the fish……that they thought was chicken. Got ya, kiddos!!!

Definitely looks better than it tasted!

A few dark chocolate chips to finish off my day of eating!!!

What are some of your favorite Summer time staples for food and drinks?

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Deck of cards Workout

Since I have been sticking to at home workouts this Summer, I think it is important to be creative to keep from getting bored.

While I am still going strong on the Chalean Extreme program, I still have a couple days per week that I am able to add in a custom cardio workout of my liking if I so wish.

I have seen The Deck of Cards workout on blogs before and Jamie Eason, a fitness model also has a very popular version of it, which is where I got the idea from originally.

Basically, if you have a deck of cards then you have yourself one killer workout!!

If you haven’t seen it before, here is how it works:

Joker= 1 or 11 points, depending on how ambitious you are

Queens, Kings, Jacks are 10 points

All other cards are at face value

  • Flip over 3 cards and add them up for the # of reps you will complete for exercise of your choice
  • Flip over 3 more cards and again, complete # of reps for exercise of your choice
  • Continue with this process until all cards have been used

For maximum results, go through the deck of cards 2-3 times.

The exercises that I plan on using for this workout are:

  • Jump Squats
  • Mountain Climbers
  • High Knees
  • Step ups
  • Jump Lunges
  • Pushups
  • Jumping Jacks
  • Skaters

Get creative with this workout and the possibilities are endless!!

4 Comments

Filed under Fitness, WIAW

4 responses to “WIAW #7 + Deck of Cards Workout

  1. I have to have my oats piping hot with plenty of peanut butter 🙂

  2. I am completely with you on the whole argula. I tried it once, and eh NEVER again. I’m not sure what it is, but the taste does not sit well with me whatsoever. Ah, jealous that you got sonic. Seriously, how amazing is the crushed ice they put in it? I’m not sure what they do, but it’s by far the best ice… if that makes sense? lol

    Have a wonderful day!!

  3. Pingback: Girl Time | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

