The Painting Begins + Pancake Muffin Bites

Is it just me or did the weekend fly by? It may have come and gone quickly but I am pleased to say that I go lots accomplished!!

Like painting two bedrooms!!! I almost tackled my bedroom as well but Lance talked me out of it. Maybe it was all the complaining I was doing about my upper back and neck being sore. Most days, I kind of like being on the smaller side but I sure could have used a few extra inches when it came to painting our crazy high walls. Oh well, what is a crick in the neck compared to getting some painting done?!

When we were picking out paint colors I decided to go ahead and let my kids choose the colors they wanted for their rooms, within reason of course. My daughter chose a nice light purple called, Lavender Sparkle and Liam chose a green color which for the life of me I cannot remember the name of.

I took some basic before shots right before I started painting.

I freaked out a bit when his room was done because I didn’t love it but over the weekend it has started to grow on me.He likes it(which is really what matters) because it will match his room when he changes it to Camo…..which was news to me!!

I am giving myself this week to rest but I plan to throw another painting party, party of ONE again next weekend!! I’m not going to lie, it is hard work but I get a thrill out of the finished product which totally makes it worth it!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Yesterday morning, I decided to try out a fun little breakfast recipe that I had seen floating around on Pinterest.

Pancake bites made in a muffin tin. How fun is that! We are a family that loves our pancakes but sometimes they are a hassle to make, especially when you are making them for multiple people.  When I saw how simple this recipe was I knew that I had to give it a go. Besides, I am a sucker for anything bite sized.

The maker of the original recipe which I used, made her pancake muffin bites using sweet and savory add-ins, like sausage and bacon. That would surely be super tasty but I decided to stick with what was easiest and just use bananas, blueberries and dark chocolate chips.

My family and I really enjoyed this new recipe! While these aren’t exactly like eating pancakes, more like a cross between a muffin and pancake, they were still very good! I especially loved how the syrup flavor is baked right in. YUM!!

PANCAKE MUFFIN BITES

*Makes 12 regular sized muffins or 24 mini muffins

  • 1 cup whole grain pancake mix(or mix of your choice)
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar free syrup
  • *toppings of your choice, including bananas, berries, chocolate chips, nuts, sausage, bacon, ect.

DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Combine pancake mix, milk and syrup and mix thouroughly
  • Lightly grease a muffin pan and pour mixture into pan, about 2/3 of the way full
  • Top each muffin with the add-in(s) of your choice
  • Bake for 12-14 minutes or until done

While I thought all the flavors were good, the banana was definitely my favorite! I loved the combination of the banana and maple flavors and banana just always seems to add so much moistness to muffin-y type foods!! The blueberry was a very close runner up!!

This recipe is definitely a keeper but next time I will top the pancake muffin bites with even more fruit and probably some nuts for more added flavor and texture!!

Do you prefer sweet or savory breakfast foods?

Do you usually have a larger breakfast on the weekends or do you keep it the same all week long? I almost always cook a larger family breakfast on Sundays.

9 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Family, Food and Recipes, recipes

9 responses to “The Painting Begins + Pancake Muffin Bites

  1. Those pancake muffins are an awesome idea! I’m going to have to try that! I think I even have pancake mix and blueberries.
    I love all breakfast foods – sweet and savory!

  2. Love that shade of green for Liam’s room! Ohh what a neat idea ((the pancake muffis)). I’m not even a little kid, but they seem like so much fun to make haha. Can’t wait to try them out this week for a little snack 🙂

    I keep my breakfasts the same all week long. gosh that sounds boring now that I’m writing it lol

    • I actually wish I was able to eat the same thing every day but I get bored with food really easily and have to change it up. I have always heard the less variety in a diet, the easier it is to stay thin!

  3. Pancake muffin bites!? Those look like so much fun. I’ll admit that a lot of time I see blog recipes like baked oatmeal and I just love making them into mini muffins instead 😀

  4. I love this idea! These would be great with peanut butter in the middle 🙂

  5. Pingback: Apple and Blueberry Protein Oat Muffins | Run Eat Play

  6. siewlingchaw

    can i just replace the pancake mix with whole wheat flour instead ?

Leave a Reply

