This is for the Birds

Friday, it is so good to see you!! I am just hoping it will be a good one.

I am a bit worried this morning because last night we noticed that our dog, Ozzy has what we thought was a seroma(vet diagnosed)that has doubled if not tripled in size since he was at the vet a few weeks back. I will be making a call just as soon as they open but I am hoping that it isn’t anything serious. He is 10 years old and I swear, he had NEVER been to the vet for anything other than checkups the first 9 years of his life. This last year though, he has probably been four times. Poor guy…..I don’t like him getting old!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Yesterday I made a quick stop by Trader Joe’s while I was out running some errands. I tell ya, I just love that place. I didn’t have anything particular that IΒ  needed so I was able to browse through the aisles and pick up a few things I had been wanting to try.

The first is Cookie Butter. I have heard so many outrageously good reviews about the stuff that I couldn’t deny myself any longer. I had been holding off on buying it for fear that I would love it too much and I definitely had reason to worry. This stuff is simply A-MAZING!!! It seriously tastes just like a cookie, except a very creamy one. I have a very bad feeling this jar won’t make it in my house past a week. Eeek!!

My other favorite find from yesterday was shaved brussel sprouts. I realize not everyone may share my excitement over brussel sprouts but I love them! I don’t buy them very often because none of my family members care for them the way I do but today, I didn’t care. I wanted them and so I bought them!!

We had breakfast for dinner last night so when I was done cooking up some turkey bacon, I threw these in the same skillet with all the leftover bacon crumblies. I added a bit of olive oil along with some salt and pepper and let the brussel sprouts saute for about 5-7 minutes. I crumbled up a couple pieces of turkey bacon to add in, placed an egg on top and voila, a super delicious dinner. This was seriously SO.GOOD.!!!….even if I am the only one in my house who ate it:-)

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

For the Birds

I’m not going to sit here and say I am a bird lover because truthfully, I am not. I really don’t give much thought to them one way or another, other than hoping that they don’t poop on me. Hey, it has happened before. Yeah….the luck!

My kids however, love just about ANY animal and my daughter had mentioned getting a bird feeder a couple times in the past. I wasn’t too interested in the idea until I saw something on Pinterest that got me to change my mind. Well, I still didn’t want to buy a bird feeder but I certainly didn’t have any issues with making one!!
I figured I could kill save two birds with one stone by spending time with my kids and feeding the little birdies. I do admit to feeling a bit bad for them. It has been HOT and DRY here in Texas so I cannot imagine it is always easy to find food.

Three items are all that you need if you want to make your own homemade bird feeder as well:

  • Empty toilet paper roll
  • bird seed
  • peanut butter

Once the toilet paper roll has been transformed into a bird feeder, you just slip it in a small branch of a tree and you have yourself a place for the birds to perch and eat!!

I have to admit as much as I said I didn’t care about the birds, I get a big ol’ kick out of sitting on the back patio and watching them stop by for a little snack πŸ˜‰

Do you like Brussel Sprouts? What is your favorite green veggie?

Are you fond of birds or could you care less?

13 Comments

Filed under Animals, Food and Recipes

13 responses to “This is for the Birds

  1. I hate brussel sprouts! I have tried over and over again to eat them, they look so delicious when they are golden and crunchy, but I can’t seem to enjoy them! One of the veggies I am not a fan of 😦 Give me broccoli, spinach or asparagus any day πŸ˜€

  2. Love the homemade bird feeder! I have to make that with my son. He loves birds and is always trying to catch one!
    I love brussles spouts. People look at me like I’m nuts. My family will not touch them. I love them roasted in the oven.

  3. Buying cookie butter may of been the best/worst idea you could’ve done haha. Is it not ridiculously addicting? I could honestly eat spoonfuls of it @ at a time. Oh & your dinner looks amazing!! I finally had a dippy egg for the first time last night, and i’m kinda sorta in heaven now!

    Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

  4. I LOVE brussels sprouts–roasted on the grill with sliced onions is the best way ever! Mmmmm.

  5. Brittany

    I love Brussel sprouts. I more than dislike birds. But Hadley loves to make these and they are all over our trees!

  6. The shave brussel sprouts would be FANTASTIC in a stirfry!! I love them regardless πŸ˜€ Oh and don’t get me started on how addicting that cookie butter spread is!

  7. Pingback: Not What I Was Expecting | Fit Minded Mom

  8. OMG I picked up that cookie butter for the first time a few weeks ago (it’s always sold out!) I think I could eat the entire jar in a couple of days. But..there is still half a jar left!

Leave a Reply

