Surpisingly Good Subway Salad

As much as I have enjoyed the relaxed days of Summer, I am starting the count down until my kids are back in school. As of today, we are down to SIX!! In the last week or so they have become quite, uh….how should I put this…..bratty!!!

Click for Source

It is constant fighting, whining and complaining about being bored. Yesterday, I couldn’t take it any longer and since the weather was fairly nice(low 90’s) I took them to the park and wore their little butts out!! I managed to wear mine out, too!!

While they climbed the monkey bars and rode their bikes, I did some running intervals in the form of sprints. In between sprints, I combined some body weight exercises such as squats, lunges, step ups and pushups to form a well rounded little workout. I was moving non-stop for a good 25-30 minutes so I was happy. I cured the kids of their bad attitudes and found my sanity all at the same time :-).

I caught a cute picture of the kids trying to sneak up on a horse while we were at the park. I just love that they love each other(well, MOST the time) and wanted to hold each others hands as a confidence builder, in order to keep inching closer and closer.

After expending so much energy at the park, we were all ready for some fuel in the form of food! I had a couple errands to run so I decided a stop by Subway was in order. The kids love their turkey sandwiches and I was craving a salad so it worked out well. I was actually pretty impressed with how my salad tasted. I got mostly spinach as my greens and then loaded it up with all the veggies. Very filling and quite delicious!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I had some more fun in my kitchen with Chobani, today!!

My kids love dessert and ask for it nightly after finishing dinner(I won’t lie, I require something sweet after dinner, too!) Sometimes I give in and other times I don’t. When I do allow it, I prefer for them to have something on the healthier side, like banana soft serve or a piece of fruit. Lately they have been asking for the Vanilla Chocolate Chunk yogurt every night which is fine by me. However they also like frozen stuff, like popsicles and ice cream.

Being the Pinterest junkie that I am, I had seen several pins of yogurt made into little drop sized pieces and frozen to create a little treat. I decided this is the route I would go!!

Let me tell ya, these things are CHO good!!!! My entire family loves them and I don’t feel the least bit guilty letting them have a few as an after dinner treat.

All ready to start squeezing. I was too lazy to get a pasty bag out so I just spooned the yogurt into a ziploc and snipped the end. Hey, it works!!

I lined a baking pan with wax paper to make the frozen yogurt drops easy to remove andΒ  stuck them in the freezer for about 2 hours.

After they were nice and frozen, I peeled them off the paper(after trying one or two!!) and stuck them in a small freezer bag for safe keeping.

These really are the perfect treat to satisfy a sweet tooth, especially if it is one craving ice cream!! I can’t wait to make more of these in all types of flavors. My son loves anything and everything mango and my daughter is a huge strawberry banana fan. Maybe I will surprise them with some more “customized” drops in the next day or two!!

*By the way, don’t forget to leave a comment on the Chobani giveaway post. You have through Wednesday to enter!!

What is your favorite way to eat yogurt? Do you like it straight out of the container, in a parfait or some other way?

If you have kids, when do they start back to school?

15 Comments

Filed under Family, Food and Recipes, Sweets

15 responses to “Surpisingly Good Subway Salad

  1. I like that yogurt idea! I’ve never tried freezing it . . . I always eat it “as-is”, with berries on top.

    I don’t have kids but I’m a high school teacher, and the kids start up on Thursday. Eek . . . two more days to prepare! πŸ™‚

  2. Have a great first day of school!! I admire teachers, especially the ones teaching teenagers. That is certainly no easy job!!

  3. What a brilliant idea for those times when you just have to have something frozen…as in ice cream. Yum and thank you!

  4. i’ve seen that and need to do it for myself as I love a good sweet tidbit after my dinner!!!!! maybe this weekend when I busy making Quinoa Broccoli & Cheese πŸ™‚

  5. Just found your blog! Awesome idea with the yogurt! I have a newborn and started my own blog and love it!

  6. Chobani Love

    I absolutely love this quick, tasty, frozen treat. I’ve tried it with a few flavors so far and have enjoyed all of ’em!

    Amy
    @Chobani

  7. Your kids sound like my kids. I love them to death, but I’m ready for school to start! πŸ™‚
    I saw those yogurt drops on Pinterest too and have been wanting to try them out. Looks like they came out great!! You’re so creative with your yogurt!

  8. YUM!!! I have two boys ages 3 and 1 and they LOVE chobani champions! For whatever reason the commissary(military grocery store) only sells the champions in chocolate chunk so this would be a great way to use them!!! I am with you on Subway…I love it!! I also loved the interest quote…oh the joys of motherhood;)

  9. I used to LOVE subway. Mainly for that fake cheese. LOL.

  10. What an awesome idea!!! Going to try it when I get back from vaca. πŸ™‚ Ya even on vaca my kids are BRATTY!!!! Time for school!!!

Leave a Reply

