WIAW #11

Good Morning!! I hope this Wednesday morning is treating you well. 🙂

I can hardly believe we are already half way through the week. At least that is how I am going to look at it rather than, I can hardly believe we are only half way through the week. I am all about the bright side today, people!!

You know what the best part about today is……It’s time for another WHAT I ATE WEDNESDAY post!! I am pretty much thrilled with my food choices yesterday. They were all super delicious and pretty darn healthy on top of that. My goal is to eat like this most days of the week and leave the true splurges for the weekend, or fun lunch dates with the hubby or friends!!

Breakfast: I have found a new breakfast love in steel cut oats. On Monday morning I made a big enough batch to carry me over until the end of the week. I love having breakfast ready to go, especially one that is as healthy and filling as this!! Steel cut oats+sliced banana+PB2=Delicious!!

Lunch: Another winner of a meal! Last weekend I stocked up on salad goodies for my lunches this week. I haven’t been eating many salads because I never have enough toppings to make them substantial and filling enough. Not a problem anymore!! I got all kinds of stuff to make up incredible tasting salads. This one included a mix of:

  • romaine and spinach
  • baby red and orange bell peppers
  • cherry tomatoes
  • roasted edamame
  • a couple slices of turkey bacon
  • feta cheese
  • 4 whole wheat crackers

Anyone who says salads are boring, obviously hasn’t had one like this!!

I also ate a greek yogurt on the side for a little extra protein….and sweetness.

Snack: I stole this snack idea from Tina at Carrots and Cake. A sliced banana topped with nut butter (I used peanut butter.) She eats this often and each time I tell myself I need to remember to include it in my meals for the day.  I tweaked it a bit and added a touch of coconut and a teensy amount of Quaker Oat Square crumbs.  Simple but so very good!!

Dinner: Since we were having chicken for dinner and it can be quite boring, I went to an old recipe that I used to make quite often to liven it up a bit. It was superb and I know this because my daughter ate a full serving of chicken and asked for more. Normally, I can only get her to take one bite of chicken before she declares she is a vegetarian. Ha!!

Honey Balsamic Chicken, roasted red potatoes and green beans made a mighty fine dinner!!

And finally….DESSERT

A single serving brownie(No Pudge is amazing!!!) topped with a tablespoon of Chobani Vanilla Chocolate Chunk. Perfect!!!

Thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting yet another(and many more to come), What I Ate Wednesday!!

  >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Workout:

Tuesday Workout: 2.25 run/walk around my very hilly neighborhood.

I finished in about 25 minutes but I will take it because my legs were SO.VERY.SORE. I thought the activity would help to reduce the DOMS(delayed onset muscle soreness) but I swear they hurt even worse when I was done. All I can say is thank goodness for scalding hot baths!!!

Wednesday Workout: Since I am unable to get to the gym today, I am going to do one of my fave home exercise videos, Strengthen and Tone by Brooke Burke. It is a great workout for getting in some light weight work and a combination of cardio. I think I will save the heavier lifting for later in the week. Besides, I think it is important to include a day of higher reps/lighter weights into your weight lifting routine to keep your body guessing!!

What are some of your favorite salad toppings?

How do you treat DOMS after an intense workout? Rest days, medication, ect?

9 Comments

Filed under Fitness, WIAW

9 responses to “WIAW #11

  1. Love Honey-Balsamic Chicken.. so simple & delicious!!

    **Your snack idea:: it’s even better when the sliced up banana is frozen!!

  2. My husband thinks this is weird, but I like to top crunchy, raw veggie-filled salads with something warm. Like grilled chicken, roasted sweet potato, or warmed black beans. I like the change in temperature and texture.

  3. I am with Michelle! I like warm and filling things on my salad! Yours looks so yummy! And vanilla chobani on a hot brownie?!?!?! OH MY. I will have to try that!!!

  4. I love that Dannon Greek yogurt – one of my favs! I usually am pretty boring with my salad toppings – veggies, mayeb some nuts or seeds, feta cheese. And I actually love pickles on my salad too! Weird, but delicious!

  5. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast

    I eat banana and nut butter almost daily, too! I like to slice it and make mini- banana sandwiches for my toddler, too. 🙂 I need to try the Vanilla choc chunk yogurt, that looks amazing!

  6. I’m thinking about buying a crock pot just to make steel cut oats. LOL.

Leave a Reply

