WIAW #12, Falling Into Good Habits

It is no secret that I am ready for Fall to arrive. I think I have mentioned it in every one of my posts for oh, the last week or two ;-).

Apparently, I am not the only one because Jenn over at Peas and Crayons, and the lovely host of What I Ate Wednesday has created a new WIAW theme for the month, called FALL into good habits. Basically, the point is to use this month to work towards creating good habits whether it be in diet, fitness or life in general.


I shared a couple of my fitness goals the other day but there are a couple other goals I want to add as well. Here we go!

  • Drink more water. I have been SO bad about this lately, probably consuming only half of what I should be on a daily basis. My goal is to make sure I hit 8 cups of non-caffeinated beverages each day.
  • Go to bed earlier. This one will be hard. I use the time in the evenings after my kids and husband have gone to bed to unwind and have a little “me” time. I read blogs, watch my shows on DVR or get deeply involved in a good book. Many times, I only average 5 hours of sleep per night. My goal is to get no less than 7 hours per night but 8 would be ideal!

    Click for Source

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    I don’t have a whole lot to show you today as far as food is concerned. Don’t worry, I ate plenty but it was in the form of three square meals with no snacking in between. Not because I didn’t want to snack but honestly, I just didn’t have the time.

    I met some friends at the mall for more some more retail therapy(all good deals, I promise!!) and a play date for the kiddos. After that it was time to get my daughter from school, cook dinner and head to cheer practice and meet the teacher for my little guy.

    This is far from a picture of food but I couldn’t help it. I just have to share a picture of my Liam with one of his new preschool teachers. He is quite excited for school today. So am I :-)!!!

    Okay, NOW I am moving on to the food!

    Breakfast: An unphotographed cup of the best coffee ever!! Only because I was SO tired(see goal) so it was my life line today. A little later in the morning I had a small bowl of Frosted Shredded Mini Wheat Cereal.

    Lunch: The best chicken sandwich EVER. Chick-Fil-A original chicken sandwich with waffle fries. You better believe I dipped those fries in BBQ sauce. It is the BEST way to eat them!!

    Dinner: Black bean quesadillas. I made these mostly because they were quick and I had all of 20 minutes to bust out dinner last night. I didn’t expect them to be so darn delicious!!! At first Camryn said she didn’t like them. Since she hadn’t even taken a bite I am not sure how she came up with that conclusion but not more than 10 seconds later I heard her say “Mmmmmm” after biting into it. Needless to say, she ate it and was happy to do so!!

I am not proud of the lacking fruits and veggies so that is definitely going to be a goal(remember, FALL into healthy habits) for the rest of the week!!

What are some goals you would like to create for yourself?

19 Comments

Filed under Family, WIAW

19 responses to “WIAW #12, Falling Into Good Habits

  1. My goal is to work on my stress level. It’s a little out of control, and I know it’s not a good thing. Time to set better priorities.

  2. Quesadilla looks amazing, and Chickfila is my life:) Have a great day!:)

  3. That quesadilla looks delicious and Chickfila is my life!!!!:)

  4. Stephenie

    Those quesa-dill-ahs looks yummy.

  5. Liam is such a little stud!!.. oh & because this post is in regards to food, your chick-fil-a looks amazing! I’ve never actually had a sandwich from there.

  6. Great fitness goals! We recently started getting Chick Fil A’s near us but we haved tried it yet!

  7. Happy WIAW! I am always working on the same goals as you, drinking more water and getting to bed early. Sometimes, I am so good about them and other times it is such a struggle. 🙂

  8. I haven’t had chick fil a in ages since I don’t eat fast food, but they really make THE BEST chicken sandwiches.

  9. Great goals! I’m always working on the more water thing. I get so busy during the day, and I’m not naturally a “thirsty” person!

  10. That puppy pic is just so sweet! So is the Liam pic! LOVE him!! I’m with you on going to bed earlier. Some nights it’s just too hard with hubby working late! I can’t help it, I love the man and I love talking to him and hanging out when he gets home! My main goal is to find my perfect balance…weed out the foods I don’t really need or care about and focus on healthy foods, and allow myself to include my “Never-ever-can-I-Live-without-these” foods: Coffee creamer, ketchup, and an occasional skinny margarita!!!

  11. Well I know what dinner tomorrow is going to be. I happen to have all the ingredients for those quesadillas lurking in my fridge. They’re just begging to be wrapped up and pressed in the cuisinart. I’m already excited! Thanks for the inspiration!
    xoxo

    • I think you will love them and they are great for a quick lunch or dinner!! I just made mine in a skillet and the secret to getting them brown and crisp on the outside is putting a super thin layer of mayo on the side facing down. It makes all the difference!!

  12. Man do I love Chick-Fil-A…and those fries….yum!

    Thanks for sharing. Happy WIAW 🙂

  13. Pingback: Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

