5 Factor Fitness

Good Friday afternoon!!! This post is coming at you a bit later than normal but I have been a busy girl this morning.

As soon as I dropped Liam off at preschool I headed straight to the gym to bust out this quick but intense workout:

  • Lateral raises 4 x 20
  • Step Ups 4 x 20 each leg
  • 20 minute intervals on Step Mill

Click for Source

In yesterday’s post, I mentioned the 5 Factor Fitness Workout. You may have heard of it because it was created by celebrity trainer(to Halle Berry, Lady GaGa, Jessica Simpson), Harley Pasternak and one of the hosts of the new daytime show Revolution. Anyway, the basics of the workout is something called 5 x 25. You workout 5 days per week for  25 minutes. That is the minimum workout but you can increase it if you like, which I have been doing. Each day you perform 2 weight bearing and one core exercise in a tri-set. Before you start the weight portion, you do a 5 minute warmup and the weight workout is then followed by 5-25 minutes of additional fat burning cardio. I choose to do cardio intervals because I think they are best at burning fat.

The reason I decided on this particular workout is because I am a big believer that you can get a great workout in and achieve a nicely toned and fit body with just 30-40 minutes of intense exercise per day. I am just not one to spend long periods of time in the gym. I love working out but I want to do it on my terms and that means I want to be in and out. I am a busy mom of two with lots of other things that fill my plate.

Because I want to prove that this does work(fingers crossed it does) I will be taking progress pics along the way(starting on Monday) and after 5 weeks of following the plan I will post my before and after shots. While I will not be following his diet(he does offer a 5 factor diet as well) I will be watching portions and trying to make the healthiest decisions possible. Most of the time :-)!!

If you are interested in looking at the plan, you can do what I did and download it from this link that I found online at SparkPeople. There is also a book for purchase and a website you can reference as well that will include complete information and facts about the workout.

* Just for the record, I am not writing about this workout for any other reason that I want to see if it actually works. If at the end of five weeks I am not happy with the results, I will let you know.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

My Morning

After I left the gym and before I headed to the grocery store I made a quick pit stop for some food. I didn’t have time to eat breakfast this morning since I had to drop my son at preschool. The closest place to buy food was McDonalds so I headed over there and got a Fruit N’ Yogurt Parfait. I have to admit, I actually find these to be quite tasty.

It did the trick of taking away my hunger pangs. Shopping on an empty tummy is NOT a good idea!! Especially when you run into this kind of candy!!

I held strong today but I have a feeling these will end up in my cart in the future!!

When I got home from the store I started feeling hungry again so I decided to whip up a two-Ingredient pancake. Tina at Carrots N Cake has been eating these pretty regularly and it had me intrigued. The two ingredients needed for the pancake are:

  • eggs
  • banana

I know….I know….I thought it sounded strange, too but surprisingly it tasted really good!! The only downfall of this recipe is that it takes a good while to cook. You have to cook it on very low heat for about 15 minutes(maybe longer) before flipping it or it will fall apart on you.

Topped with a heaping spoonful of peanut butter, this made a fantastic lunch!!

On another note, I just had to step away from the computer for 30 minutes because my phone REFUSED to upload these pictures and I was becoming an irritated mess, lol!! Thankfully, my phone finally decided to cooperate and this blog can now be posted. Maybe this is my hint to step away from technology and enjoy my weekend. Yep…..I think that is it!!!

What do you have planned this weekend?

If you HAD to hit up McDonald’s, what would you pick as a “healthier” menu item?

10 Comments

Filed under Books, Fitness, Food and Recipes, Motivation

10 responses to “5 Factor Fitness

  1. I’ll be curious to hear what you think about the 5-factor fitness after 5 weeks! Sounds like a good program!

    My husband and I experimented with the 2-ingredient pancakes last week. I thought it was great, by my husband wasn’t sold. Glad you like it–I mean, really, does it get any easier?!? 🙂

  2. Serena Lero

    Confused about the pancake ingredients but interested! 😉

    • I just mashed up a banana(ripe one) along with one egg and an egg white and whipped it together like you would for scrambled eggs. Coat a pan with olive or coconut oil and pour in like you would a pancake. It is really easy….you just have to be patient in the cooking process.

  3. Pumpkin Spice hersheys kisses?! How have i not seen these?!

  4. Grilled Chicken Sandwich??? I admit that I totally avoid McD’s. I get annoyed that they don’t have the different side choices (salads, fruit, etc.) like Wendys and Chik-fil-a.

    • I agree!! The other day I ordered my daughter a happy meal and she does not like the fries so I asked if we could sub in a fruit n yogurt parfait and they refused. I ordered it anyway but you would think since the price is the same they would allow the healthier option. It is definitely a place I try to stay away from!!

Leave a Reply

