A Perfect Combination

It’s Friday. Can I get a big ol’ Texas Yee-Haw to that, lol!!

Okay, I know I should totally go back and delete that but I’m not going to because sometimes it is just fun to be a big ol’ corny nerd…haha!! I promise you though, I wouldn’t really say that out loud ;-)!!

I am still fighting with this sinus stuff BUT I do believe it has improved slightly so I will take it. I have to give props to the dinner I made last night for making me feel a bit better!!

Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup + Hearty Oat Loaf= A Perfect Combination for kicking a cold’s butt!!!

When I am feeling under the weather, soup is definitely my go to comfort food and I was craving it all day. Heck, if I would have had the canned stuff, I am sure that would have done the trick. Since I didn’t have any in the cupboards I decided to see if I could come up with the ingredients for some soup with what I had at home. Lucky for me, I was able to manage! 🙂

As happy as I was to get started on some soup, I couldn’t kick the urge to make the Hearty Oat Bread that I saw posted on Courtney’s blog earlier in the week. What the heck…I didn’t have anything better to do so I whipped up a pan of that, too. All I can say is OH. MY. GOOD. BREAD!!!

Let’s get to the soup recipe and then we will talk a little more about the bread. Sound good?!

Cure A Cold Chicken Noodle Soup

I want to say right off the bat that I had never made this particular soup before so I definitely improvised with the ingredients by using what I had on hand. If you don’t have these exact ingredients, use what you DO have to make your own pot of tasty, warm goodness!!


Ingredients

  • 1 large can white meat chicken breast(normally I would use a rotisserie)
  • 6 ounce noodles(dry)
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 large zucchini, diced
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn(approximate)
  • 1/2 cup frozen spinach(approximate)
  • 5 cups water(you could use chicken broth but if you do, leave out the bouillon cubes)
  • 3-4 bouillon cubes
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried oregano

Directions

  • In a large pan or dutch oven, saute veggies in olive oil until they begin to soften.
  • Add in chicken, basil and oregano and continue to cook to blend the flavors.
  • Add water along with bouillon cubes and bring to a boil.
  • Once the soup begins to boil, turn down to low and allow soup to simmer 30 minutes to one hour.
  • While soup is simmering, boil noodles in a separate pot, according to package directions.
  • Place cooked noodles in bottom of bowl and pour soup mixture on top.

* I like to cook my noodles separately so I can control the amount going into each bowl. Also, if you have leftovers, it soaks up less broth so you have more the next day!!

I used Heartland Hidden Vegetable noodles to pack in even more of a veggie punch. Well, that and it was all that I had!!

Let me just say, that was a gooooood bowl of soup, y’all!!!

HEARTY OAT LOAF/BREAD

I can’t leave out that delicious bread, now can I?! I had never made bread before because I am quite intimidated by using yeast but this recipe does not require any so I figured I couldn’t mess it up too bad. Right, I was!!! This is just amazing, especially topped with a smear of butter and some honey.

You can find the original recipe by visiting, Courtney’s page. Mine was pretty similar but I did change it up with just a couple of ingredients. Rather than listing the recipe for the slight changes I made, I will just show you what I replaced.

  • I used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 2 cups whole white wheat in place of 2 cups all-purpose and 1 cup whole wheat
  • I used coconut oil in place of canola oil

I doubt these changes made much of a difference in the way it tastes but again, I used the ingredients that I had on hand and that loaf of bread is a real winner if I do say so myself!!!

Don’t judge me if I eat another piece just like this…..for breakfast, lunch and snack. Okay ;-)!!

Okay, okay….since I am going to a Texas Rangers game tonight I guess I will control myself and only eat one or two slices today. You know there is going to be some good(not so healthy) ball park food finding its way into my tummy tonight!!!

What is your favorite type of soup? Feel free to link up your favorite recipes as I am always on the look out for something new!!

Do you have any Friday night plans? How about this weekend?

6 Comments

Filed under Food and Recipes, Fort Worth Activities, recipes, Uncategorized

6 responses to “A Perfect Combination

  1. MMM I love good some good chicken soup! I love to add dumplings. I have tried to make bread a couple of times but decided that yeast and me do not go together! I’ll have to check out the recipe to this one.

  2. YAY! So glad you tried the bread!! Thanks so much for linking up and sharing 🙂
    Hope you feel better soon…hubby and I are both battling some sinus/allergy stuff ourselves. No fun!

  3. Looks delicious! I’m going to have to look for that pasta!
    I rarely make homemade soup. I did make potato soup once but that was a looonngg time ago!
    Tonight we’re going to a reading night at my son’s school and tomorrow I’m running a 5k!

  4. YEE HAW!

    Only people from Texas can say that 😉

  5. Bread looks delicious! Yum!

Leave a Reply

