Such Great Recommendations

So much for being consistent on getting 7-8 hours of sleep each night. I kind of messed up my streak when I didn’t get to bed until 1am last night. Oops!!!

I kind of don’t care though because I was so engrossed in a new book, Divergent, that being zombie-like for the day is totally worth it!!!! Julie at PB Fingers recommended the book and she was right on about it being phenomenal. If you are looking for a new read, Divergent is IT!!!

Friday Night

Friday evening the family and I headed to Texas Rangers Ballpark to watch the Rangers take on Seattle.

The weather was a bit iffy as it had been raining lightly all day but I just crossed my fingers that the skies wouldn’t open up for a torrential downpour. While the rain wasn’t too heavy it did get us wet enough that we required ponchos. Can you believe the garbage bags ponchos were $8.00 each?!  I can think of other ways I would have rather spent my $$ but at the time, it was more than worth it! It wasn’t the best look but it sure beats sitting around in soggy jeans!!

It was a great game and the Texas Rangers came out victorious that night. I must be a good look charm because the three games I have attended this year have all been winners :-)!!

Saturday

Yesterday I got a sample of what the next 2 months of my weekend life will look like. It basically includes cheer and football. The team my daughter cheers for will play all their games at the exact same time each Saturday which just happens to be in the middle of the day. That’s alright though, it is definitely worth the time commitment to watch Camryn out there cheering her little heart out and building her confidence. Go Longhorns!!!

After the game, we headed to Trader Joes to pick up a few things. A few things turned into a cart full and we ended up with $100 worth of groceries. Honestly though, for everything that I got and much of it being organic, I felt like I did really well!!

Since I wasn’t able to get everything I needed from Trader Joes, I had to make a stop by WalMart(joy, oh joy) to pick up a few needed items. While I was there I spotted a couple of things that weren’t on my list but I couldn’t resist picking them up!

I was in the mood for pizza but wanted to keep it semi-healthy so when I came across these little Joseph’s pizza shells at only 80 calories each, I couldn’t resist.

Topped with some sauce, cheese and basil these made the perfect little dinner!!

Something else I couldn’t resist putting into my cart at the grocery store……..

I really should title this post “Julie’s recommendations” because she is also the reason I know about this ice cream. After hearing  her rave about it so many times, I just had to try it. Oh boy….I am not sure if I should be glad I did(because of its super deliciousness) or sad that I did(because of its super deliciousness) because I have a feeling my pants could start getting a little snug if I bring this into the house too often. It is AMAZING!!!

As good as it was, I did manage to stick to a serving size which is 1/2 cup. That doesn’t mean that I wasn’t licking the bowl at the end, though ;-)!!!

Now that I got ya all caught up on my weekend, I had better go get ready to finish the rest of it. As much as I really just want to snuggle in my bed and continue to read, I have food to make, house to clean and a birthday party to attend!! Darn responsibilities ;-).

What are you currently reading?

What do you usually put in your cart on impulse at the grocery store?

7 Comments

Filed under Books, Family, Food and Recipes, Fort Worth Activities

7 responses to “Such Great Recommendations

  1. I will definitely check out that book! I am looking for a good read! We have season tix to the red sox, but they suck so bad we don’t go!! lol… The only thing I impulse grab at a store is gum!! yup I said gum!! I could care less about ice cream, cookies, cake etc… I just want gum!!:):)

  2. Your kiddos are too cute! I’ve been eyeing that ice cream on Julie’s blog too… One of these days I know I’m going to fall for it! I’ve heard nothing but great things!

  3. How fun! I hate wet jeans..so gross feeling:) I can’t think of a better way to spend Saturdays then with your kids and their sports! Your daughter looks so cute:) I am drooling over those mini pizzas and ice cream! If I throw something in my cart it is usually the pepperidge farm cake donuts;) Right now I am reading “Becoming Sister Wives”…very different but interesting. I also am waiting for the 3rd book in the Nora Roberts series to come out!

    • I have never seen the Pepperidge Farm cake donuts which is probably a very good thing!

      Is “Becoming Sister Wives” fiction or non-fiction? Sounds like it might be interesting but like you said…..different!

Leave a Reply

