Pain in the Neck

Monday morning……how is it treating you today? If it were for this darn pain in my neck, I would say I was feeling just dandy!

I always find it interesting how I am able to wake from such a sound sleep with a crick in my neck. I mean, you would think I must have been in some strange,  uncomfortable sleeping position in order to get one but nope, I slept like a baby last night. Anyone out there have any tricks for helping it to feel better?

I guess the workout I had planned for this morning will have to wait until this evening. Maybe by then my neck will have loosened up a bit.

Sunday

We took the kids to a birthday party yesterday and while my kids were excited to be there, I am not so sure it was because of the party itself. Instead, they were intrigued by a sweet little girl named Mini Belle!!

How cute is this little four pound bundle of fur?!! Mini Belle was decked out in her party dress complete with matching bow and honestly, she stole the show :-)! She knows how to give high 5’s and 1o’s and lots of other doggy tricks. Camryn thought pushing her around in the stroller was the best thing ever!

My kids are always begging and pleading with me to have another baby but I have a feeling their pleas will turn into, ” Can we please have a Mini Belle”!!!

After the party was over, we headed home so I could get our dinner prepared. I have said before that my family(the hubs and I) have really looked into eating more of a flexitarian diet, where we only eat meat with several dinners per week. Lance has really jumped on board with the idea the last few weeks so I figured it was time to get started!!

Dinner

After browsing the internet looking for some recipes, the idea of beanie burgers intrigued me. We are a family that loves beans, they are inexpensive and all the recipes looked pretty easy. I ended up taking some tips from a couple different blogs, Kath Eats and Veggie by Season and coming up with my own little creation.

Beanie Burgers

Ingredients

  • One can dark red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 4 TBSP whole wheat white flour
  • 1/4 cup oats, old-fashioned or quick oats work well
  • 2 carrots, chopped or shredded
  • 1/4 cup onion
  • 1/4 cup corn
  • 1 TBSP Dijon Mustard
  • 2 TBSP Ketchup
  • 2 TBSP Worcestershire
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin

Directions

  • Mash rinsed and drained beans with a fork or put into a food processor until mashed.
  • On stove, saute carrots, onion and corn until they are soft, about 5-7 minutes.
  • Add flour, oats and all seasonings to bean mixture.
  • Once veggies have cooled slightly, add them into mixture and combine well.
  • Form bean mixture into four equal sized patties.
  • Place in a skillet that has been lightly greased with olive oil(over medium heat) and allow to cook 3-5 minutes.
  • Once the patty has become “set”, carefully flip and continue cooking on the other side until warmed through.
  • Serve on a bun along with condiments or eat bun-less along with a salad.

Bean patties before cooking

I admit, I was pretty nervous serving these up to my family. I had a feeling I would really like these because I stole a couple of fingerfuls of the mixture before cooking and it was YUM! I was nervous though because while these had an awesome flavor, the texture really isn’t similar to a true burger at all. Beanie Burgers are much softer and can be a little mushy on the inside.

My worry was for nothing!!! These babies were scarfed down with zero complaints!!

What I like most about these is how filling they were but they didn’t leave you with a rock in your gut type of full feeling. I love a good beef or turkey burger but sometimes when I am finished eating one, it sits in my tummy for what seems like FOR-EVER!!

If you aren’t scared to experiment with your food, I highly suggest trying these, especially if you are a fan of beans. 🙂

Another new food that I tried this morning……

Puffins!!!

These are like Cap N’ Crunch for grown-ups, though my son really likes them, too!!

I LOVE a good two or three bowl of cereal but I don’t eat it often because it doesn’t do the best job of filling me up. I tend to go back for seconds or thirds and that kind of defeats the time I spend working out. I am learning however, if I add something to it, like bananas or berries I tend to be more easily satisfied. I also think these puffins would be really good paired with a banana and peanut butter for an afternoon snack. Oh yeah!!!!

Do you like veggie or beanie burgers?

What is your favorite “healthy” cereal?

9 Comments

Filed under Animals, Family, Food and Recipes, recipes, vegetarian

9 responses to “Pain in the Neck

  1. I make two different bean burgers that I love. One is with black beans (It’s on my blog), and the other is a thai-flavored burger using chickpeas. The recipe for those is from the Peas and Thank You cookbook, and I think it’s on her blog too. It’s sooooo good.

  2. Mini Belle’s dress! Too cute!

    I’m a BIG bean burger fan! I’ve never made my own because I’m way too intimidated. These look easy, though. Tempting, very tempting.*

  3. The burgers looks so good:) I will have to try them out! I also love Cascadian Farms “Cinnamon Crunch” for the kids. It tastes just like Cinnamon Toast Crunch, but has a lot more benefits to it:) One of my favs is Kellogs Smart Start, and my husband loves Indigo Morning by Kashi!

  4. Glad your family liked your burgers!
    That doggie is too cute!
    I love the Cascadian Farms organic cinnamon crunch cereal – so good! I need to try the Puffins! They look yummy!

  5. I actually slept like poop last night! I’d rather have my neck hurt and be able to sleep 😉

  6. Serena Lero

    You know what, with Kris’s love of beans and hatred of meat I HAVE to try these! Thanks for the recipe! Cutest dog ever right! You need to add that she is a service dog! Actually after my mom’s back surgery she tripped and fell in the hall and hit her head, and Minnie Belle (named after my great grandmother) never left her side, barking frantically and woke my brother up to help! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Sleep, Running and Bras | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

