A Little Something Pumpkin

I decided to start the morning with a little Fall flavor. In the form of pumpkin pancakes. YUM!!

Other than the pumpkin spice coffee I have been enjoying for the last week or so, this was my first official pumpkin food of the season. I did try to make a pumpkin smoothie a couple days ago but I obviously did something wrong because I tossed it down the sink. It was NOT drinkable.

The pancakes however, yeahhhhh…I had no trouble throwing these into my mouth :-).  I added a few chocolate chips to each pancake as they were cooking and then topped them with a few more. A dollop of peanut butter added to the top made them over the top good, especially when the peanut butter and chocolate chips got all melty.

Yes….I did lick my plate to get the last of the gooey melted chocolate and peanut butter left on my plate. No shame here!!!

Saturday

My morning started with a 2.25 mile run.

I have felt a bit lost in my exercise routine recently so I decided that what I needed was a plan. Nothing too crazy or anything but some sort of goal to work towards. Running a 5k has been something that has been in the back of my mind recently and with my love of Fall running, I decided THAT would be my goal.

After looking online I found one, The Honored Hero Run which benefits the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. This particular race is something I will be honored to run in because one of my close friends has a three year old daughter that was diagnosed with Leukemia last year. It has been a tough road for them and anything extra I can do to support the cause is a blessing.

The race is only one month away so I have some work to do!! My current pace is about 10:30 per mile BUT I can only get about 1.5-2 miles before I am huffing and puffing and ready for a walking break. I don’t have a particular finish time in mind for the race but I do want to complete it without walking. I know I can do it, especially on race day when the adrenaline is flowing.

I am really looking forward to this since it will be my first 5K in TWO years!!!!

My very first 5K in 2008, when I was a blondie.

After my run, I came home to get ready for the day. Off to football(cheer) and then we were meeting my In-laws for lunch in Fort Worth.

We had decided on Chuy’s and I was obviously on board because I am never one to turn down Mexican food. As much as I really wanted a cheesy enchilada, I went with the tortilla soup instead. Enchilada’s are great in the moment but 20 minutes after eating one and I end up regretting it. They do a number on my tummy and I wasn’t in the mood to feel all miserable for the rest of the day.

My decision was a good one because the tortilla soup was amazing!!! It was a HUGE bowl and I couldn’t finish it even though I gave most of my chicken away to Lance. Hmmm, it might have had something to do with the large amount of chips and salsa I had beforehand. Oops!!

Being that I was so full from my lunch, I ended up eating a really late dinner, at least for me. Around 7:30 I ended up making myself some balsamic glazed shredded brussel sprouts(SOOOOO good) with an egg on top for some added protein.

Freakin’ YUM!!!! My family complained non-stop about how I was stinking up the house cooking them but I didn’t care. They can complain again today when I warm them up for lunch ;-)!!!

Time to get productive, I guess!! Fall decorations are going up today and I am pretty sure there are a few loads of laundry calling my name. Fun times, fun times………

See y’all tomorrow.

What are your favorite pancake toppings?

Have you ever run a race without having much time to train? Any hints on how I should train to make the most of the next 27 days until race day?

6 Comments

Filed under Family, Fitness, Food and Recipes, Fort Worth Activities

6 responses to “A Little Something Pumpkin

  1. yup running in a race in 2 weeks and haven’t trained at all!! oops!! 5k I can do it. (I hope):). I don’t eat pancakes, but they did look good. I have to be careful of the carbs I eat. Gluten and I don’t get a long very well. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed yours.

  2. Mmm pumpkin pancakes and brussel sprouts 🙂

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Alert | Fit Minded Mom

  4. I ran the honored hero run as my first half in 2010. Great race! It was really well organized, and I’d imagine it has only gotten better. It’s a wonderful cause, and I wish you luck at the 5k!*

Leave a comment