Peanut Butter Alert

Morning friends!!! If you missed Sunday’s post, no biggie, you can check out it now.

I have to say, I kind of wish I were still in bed right now. I managed to get a full seven hours of sleep last night but my body is telling me it could have used another hour.

Eh, I have a feeling that very soon I will start responding to the coffee drip I have going and I will be bouncing off the walls with energy. I can at least hope, right :-)!!

Peanut Butter Recall

To all my fellow peanut putter + Trader Joes lovers, I thought I would share some recall information that was brought to my attention yesterday.

The recall is currently for the Salted Valencia Creamy Peanut Butter. Apparently, it has been linked to at least 29 cases of salmonella in over 18 states. Obviously, if you have this in your cupboards, you want to stop eating it immediately!!

Click for source

You can find more information on the recall at www.fda.gov.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Now that we got that important announcement out of the way, let’s check out what deliciousness was made up in my house yesterday!!

The leftover balsamic glazed brussel sprouts I made on Saturday night was the perfect lunch yesterday afternoon. I cooked up a veggie burger to go with it, topped it with some mustard and ate until my little heart was content. Yum, yum!!!

I am going to sound like a broken record but I just don’t understand how people cannot like the goodness that is brussel sprouts!!!

Last week, Courtney made a batch of rice krispie treats that were calling my name. They weren’t the plain ones though, they were pumpkin spice flavored!!! Imagine my surprise when I suddenly found that a box of Rice Krispies and pumpkin spice marshmallows had jumped into my cart at the grocery store. Really? How did that happen?!

Since I now had the ingredients to make these little gooey treats, I figured it would be a real food tragedy if I didn’t hop right on that task! Desserts like this are great for the kiddos to help with because let’s face it, most kids like getting all sticky(I don’t) and other than that factor, they are super easy to make.

Since it is Fall and all, I got out the cookie cutter and turned that pan of treats into pumpkins…..with chocolate chip smiley faces.

I definitely had my fair share of these and possibly more!! Why are rice krispie treats so darn addictive?

Calorie Counting

This brings me to my next point. Sigh.

I need to lose a few pounds. No, I am not overweight(not even close) but I am feeling quite uncomfortable with myself these days. It probably has something to do with the way my pants squeeze me like a sausage casing squeezes a sausage!! During the Summer months, I was able to ignore it a bit because I wore dresses as often as possible and they are quite forgiving. However, now that jean season is quickly approaching, if I don’t buckle down, I won’t have anything to wear…at least not comfortably.

Remember when I broke up with the scale? Well, I did really well at staying away but I was curious, and a week or so ago stepped on it. It certainly reaffirmed to me that while I have no desire to go back to it full-time, I do need to work on shedding a few. It really isn’t about the number, if it were higher and my pants still fit well I wouldn’t care but that just is not the case. The number is higher and my pants aren’t fitting well.

Because of this, I have decided to go back to the tried and true method of losing weight, calorie counting, using the My Fitness Pal app on my phone.

I have no desire to get all obsessive with it but my goal will be to stay under 1500 calories most days of the week. I don’t love counting calories but I have to face the music and be accountable to myself!!!

Cheers to looser pants in a few weeks!!!!

Do you have any of the recalled peanut butter in your cupboard?

What is your best method for losing a few pounds when your clothes start getting tight?

10 Comments

Filed under Food and Recipes, Motivation, Sweets

10 responses to “Peanut Butter Alert

  1. Awww, I love your pumpkin rice crispy treats!! 🙂

  2. Ok.. yum on the pumpkin rice krispy treats!!! Gonna have to make those!!! And I am with you..I could’ve used more sleep:) Glad you had a nice weekend!

  3. Love the recipe girl. I know loosing a couple lbs will make you feel better, but lady you are BEAUTIFUL! 🙂

  4. Scary about the pb recall . . . luckily I don’t have any of it at home.

    I have brussels sprouts on the menu for tonight . . . can’t wait. I seriously love them. Why didn’t I eat them when I was younger?!?

    I totally understand about the “couple of pounds”. It’s being in your comfort range–I get it. Being mindful about it (instead of obsessive or super strict) is probably the best way to counteract it! 🙂

    • Exactly!! I used to be a strict calorie counter and all it did was make me unhappy but I do think there are times it is necessary. As long as one doesn’t freak out about every little calorie that is consumed it is a realistic and healthy way of getting rid of a few pounds.

  5. Myfitnesspal really is such a great, helpful app. I love it just because it forces me to be mindful of what I’m eating.

  6. So sad about the peanut butter! Thankfully, I don’t eat that kind!
    I love the rice krispie treats – my kids would love them!!
    I lost 30 pounds by counting calories! Its a pain but its the only thing that works for me.

  7. Pingback: WIAW #15 = Semi Couch to 5K | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

