WIAW #15 = Semi Couch to 5K

Hi y’all!!!

Let’s get started with talk about yesterday’s workout.

  • Non-Existent. Oops!!

I had every intention of getting in a strength training workout but I ended up skipping. It isn’t my proudest moment but I am not going to sit here and make excuses. I was lazy. There is no other way to put it.

I guess it’s a good thing I will be heading out for Day 2 of the “Semi-Couch to 5K” I am doing to get race ready. I am calling it “Semi C25K” because my fitness level is beyond the ever popular C25K plans out there. They definitely work for very beginner runners  and I know this because I was one of them several years ago. I went from having a newborn baby to running a 5K with a fairly decent time in just under a few months. For new runners, I highly recommend the Couch to 5K program to get you out the door and hitting the pavement.

But like I said, I am a bit beyond that now and can run a couple miles before my asthma starts to kick in and makes me feel like I am getting kicked in the chest. Ha!! I am actually kidding, it isn’t that bad but the two mile mark is pretty hard to push past without a walking break at this point. I know the steep hills in my neighborhood are doing me no favors!!!

After digging around on runner forums and googling 5K plans, this is what I have come up with.

Moving right along……..

What I Ate Wednesday

Since I just started counting calories, I had to make sure I didn’t get too heavy handed with my meals today. Normally when I start tracking my food, by the 2nd day, I am starving and wanting everything that I shouldn’t have. Even though I did have a couple rumbles in my tummy throughout the day, I think I did a pretty good job at making choices that were filling but also allowed me to feel like I wasn’t “dieting”.

Breakfast was a bowl of peanut butter Puffins and 1/2 sliced banana. I also had a delicious cup of pumpkin spice coffee.

Morning Snack: A sliced green apple with PB2. I think PB2 is a great substitute for peanut butter but it really is best used in baking and flavoring things. I really did enjoy this little snack but come on’, there is NO replacement for the real stuff!!

Lunch: I made a veggie burger, topped it with a tablespoon of hummus and placed it on a bed of leftover quinoa from last nights dinner. This made for a filling meal that tasted really good, too!!

 While out on a quick shopping trip, I came across this amazing bag of granola.

Take a couple guesses as to what store I found this at? Go ahead……..

TJ MAXX!!!! Really?! I have heard so many wonderful things about this granola from other bloggers but had never had the chance to try it. I have never seen it at my local grocery stores but who needs those when you can shop for food at places like TJ Maxx…ha!!

Afternoon Snack: You better believe this made its way onto the top of some black cherry greek yogurt. Yum….I see what all the fuss is about!!

Dinner: Black bean and avocado quesadillas. This is a recycled photo but what the heck, it looks just like it always does. This has become an easy favorite in our house lately and I am all for it. Mmmmmmmm!!!

I can’t get out of here without thanking Jenn at Peas and Crayons for allowing me to be apart of another great week of WIAW!!!!

Have you ever tried the Couch to 5K program? Did it work for you?

What is the tastiest food you have eaten so far this week?

8 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Health, Motivation, WIAW

8 responses to “WIAW #15 = Semi Couch to 5K

  1. Sorry about your non-existent workout yesterday, but there’s always today 🙂

    The tastiest food I’ve eaten this week… wow, I don’t even know? Is that bad?? lol

  2. I love all things Mexican . . . those enchiladas look delicious! The best thing I’ve eat this week was that apple pie I posted about. I’m still dreaming about it . . . it was sooooo good.

  3. I just wrote a post about how real peanut butter is way better too!!
    I did the couch to 10k app but never really stuck with it all the way.
    I loved my honeycrisp apple with pb that I had yesterday!

  4. That quesadilla looks delicious! I just pinned it so hopefully that means I will try it soon! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Meal Planning | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

