Pulled Pork Stuffed Sweet Potato

Goooood Friday morning!!!

Click for source

Did anyone else catch the season premiere of Grey’s Anatomy last night? Ugh…..the tears flowed!!! I don’t want to give any spoilers in case you are the DVR and watch it later type(like I usually am) but it certainly wasn’t the premiere I was hoping for. Don’t get me wrong, it was good, REALLY good but I am gonna be sad to see one of my favorite characters gone :-(.

It is funny because last season, I swore up and down I would NEVER watch it again after the way the finale ended but obviously that was quite the empty threat. At the time though, I truly meant it. It is funny how we can get so emotionally invested in a television show and characters that come into our living rooms once a week.

Sooooo, looks like I will be watching it but I am still steaming a little bit over the loss of Lexie……which I will have to re-live in next weeks episode. I will prepare myself for many more tears!!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Dinner
Last week when I was browsing through Pinterest, I saw a picture that made me stop dead in my tracks and lick my lips!!! Yea, I like to be dramatic like that, sometimes ;-). But really, the baked sweet potato that was stuffed with pulled pork definitely caught my attention!!

Last night, I re-created that meal, though my picture doesn’t look nearly as pretty as the one on Pinterest did. Thankfully, we aren’t having a photo contest, however, a pulled pork cooking contest…… I feel for sure I would have taken the trophy on that one. Yep, it is just that good!!!

I used my favorite pulled pork recipe as the topping for my sweet potatoes. This is simply one of the best tasting and easiest recipes you will ever make. I have made this for company several times and I have never received anything but rave reviews. You know they like it when they go back for seconds and yes, even thirds!!! I blogged about this dish before but since I didn’t include an actual recipe last time I figured I would remedy that now. šŸ™‚

This is the kind of recipe you make if you aren’t really a cook but you want to trick people into thinking you are!!

Crock-pot Pulled Pork

Check out the short ingredient list:

  • Boneless country style pork ribs(I used one package but double to feed more)
  • One can or bottle of beer
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Barbeque sauce

Directions

  • Place ribs in crock-pot, cover with beer and season with salt and pepper.
  • Cook on high 5-6 hours or low for 3-4 hours, depending on how quickly your crock-pot cooks.
  • Once pork is done, remove from crock-pot and shred with two forks.
  • While you are shredding pork, heat oven to 375 degrees.
  • Place shredded pork in a dutch oven or oven proof pan and coat with barbeque sauce.
  • Cook pulled pork in the oven, uncovered for 20-30 minutes, until the sauce begins to get a little sticky.

*You can skip the oven step but it really does make this dish. It allows the BBQ flavor to really mix into the pork. It also makes the BBQ sauce become slightly sticky and the tips of the pork to brown and get slightly crunchy. Mmmmm, my favorite part!!!

In my hurry to chow down I forgot to snap a picture of the finished product all covered in yummy sauce. Just because I want you to get the full effect of this incredible dish, I am going to use a recycled photo. You’re okay with that, right?!

You may prefer to cook your sweet potatoes in the oven but since I am impatient, I tend to just nuke them. I have discovered a way to make them in the microwave where they come out soft and moist, not hard and dry.

Here is my tip: Poke holes in the potato with a fork or knife. Place the potatoes in a microwavable safe dish with about 1 inch of water. Cook potatoes for approximately six minutes though you may want to check them around four minutes just to be safe.

Once the potatoes are cooked, slice open and top with the pork mixture!!!

The combination of flavors in this is just the best!!!! The sweetness of the potato combined with the smokey spice of the pulled pork. Lip smacking good!!!

What television shows are you watching this Fall?

Do you have recipes that you use beer or wine to cook with?

12 Comments

Filed under Food and Recipes, recipes

12 responses to “Pulled Pork Stuffed Sweet Potato

  1. I already have big plans to make my husband pulled pork once our crock pot arrives. (All our belongings are in-transit from our cross-country move.) I plan to make a bunch to freeze the extra and serve it in interesting ways. This is a great idea! And healthy. My man will be so happy. If we ever get our stuff back, that is!*

  2. This looks so good!! Love pulled pork on anything.. especially BBQ or Pulled pork marinated in wing sauce on top of lettuce with a ridiculous amount of vegetables!

  3. I just posted two recipes rather recently that used wine (one white, one red) . . . but after reading this post, I realized I’ve never cooked with beer. However, my brother-in-law has made the best “beer can chicken” I’ve ever had! I need to try doing it myself. šŸ™‚

  4. I was completely devastated when they killed Lexi last season. I was so attached to her for some reason. It really made me angry and I wasn’t going to watch this season either- but of course I watched it. My husband and I were betting each other about what happened to Arizona and I was right! I tried not to cry last night because I cried so hard over Lexi last year and didn’t want to cry over this!

    • Ahhh!!! I was devastated when Lexi died last year!! I was seriously giving that show up, lol!!! I couldn’t help but cry when Mark died but in my mind I was thinking….at least he gets to be with Lexi. And of course, that is NOT true because they are just television characters…ha!!

  5. That pork looks amazing!!!!! I will have to write this down and try it! I also listed my fav shows on my blog today:) It has been a brutal week of season premieres…ugh.:) Have an awesome weekend!!!

  6. I think my hubby would love that pork recipe! I should try it out!

    We watched the Big Bang Theory yesterday – so funny, love that show!

  7. I seriously love pulled pork. Gonna have to try this!

  8. Pingback: Sloppy, Sloppy Joes | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

