Pumpkin Palooza

Happy Tuesday friends!!!

I have a fantastic recipe to share with y’all today but first, let’s check off a couple of other items :-)!

Yesterday’s Workout

  • 20 minute upper body workout
  • 2.75 mile run = 34 minutes. 15 min run, 1 min walk, 15 min run, 3 min cooldown

At this point, I feel sure I will do just fine with my 5K on October 21st. I am definitely not going to be speedy but I don’t think it will be a struggle either!

Color in Motion 5K Giveaway

Speaking of 5K’s, with the help of random.org,  I have chosen the winner for free entry into the Color In Motion Dallas 5K!!

Lindsay Killian-I’ll do it with you!!!!!! Pick the pregnant lady! ;)

Congrats, Lindsay!! Send me an email to fitmindedmom@gmail.com and I will get you the needed info!!!

Breakfast

Last night I made my delicious crust-less quiche for dinner. I had a couple pieces left over and it made a FAN-TASTIC breakfast this morning!!!

The last time I made my quiche, I did a bacon and broccoli version. This time however, I stuck with spinach, onion and feta. Did you know that yesterday was National Vegetarian Day? I wasn’t aware until I saw a post about it but my dinner choice worked out well for the occasion….if you are an egg and cheese eating vegetarian, that is!! 😉

I kind of want to go back and finish off that last piece but am thinking I might just save it to go with my lunch. Decisions, decisions…….

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Moving on to the Pumpkin Palooza that happened up in my house yesterday!!!

I started off with pumpkin spice waffles, topped with even more pumpkin and a few banana slices!! To sweeten my pumpkin up a bit, I added a teaspoon of Trader Joes Honey Apple Butter and oh my, it was goooodddd!!!!

 

Later in the day, I started to get the itch to bake!! I love baking SO much!!! I find it relaxing(when I am not rushed) and it is a great activity for me to involve my kids in. Since I had an almost full can of opened pumpkin, I knew I had to incorporate that into the recipe. I was debating between baking pumpkin bread or cookies but couldn’t make up my mind. To help, I headed to my computer to see what kind of low-calorie recipes I could scrounge up.

When I saw skinny pumpkin cookies, I knew I had a winner!!! The original recipe comes from The Realistic Nutritionist. Her cookies are only 42 calories each(pretty amazing) BUT they don’t include the greatness that is dark chocolate chips.

Skinny Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar(I used a mix of granulated and turbinado)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp pumpkin spice seasoning
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin flavored yogurt(you can use apple sauce or plain vanilla yogurt)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a cookie sheet.
  • Combine flours, baking soda/powder, pumpkin spice and salt in a medium sized bowl.
  • Cream sugar, yogurt, vanilla and pumpkin in a separate bowl.
  • Add flour mixture to sugar and mix until combined and dough starts to form. Incorporate dark chocolate chips into mixture. 
  • With a spoon or small ice cream scoop, place scoops of dough on cookie sheet.
  • Cook for 15-18 minutes or until firm and lightly browned.

 
This batch of dough makes between 24-32 cookies, depending on the size. I chose to make mine slightly bigger and was able to get 24 good sized cookies. Hey, the bigger the better to me ;-)!!!

Calories:

  • 24 cookies= 90 calories each
  • 32 cookies= 66 calories each

The cookies are very soft and moist but also have a slightly chewy texture to them which I like quite a lot!! These really do make a perfect Fall treat, eaten by themselves or along side a cup of coffee, cocoa or even a glass of milk……for those of you who like that sort of thing. Just don’t offer any of that up to me, please. I am NOT a fan of milk.

Do you enjoy baking? What is your favorite dessert to make? By the way, feel free to link up some of your favorite Fall desserts. I am always open to new ideas!!

Do you mind eating reduced calorie/sugar treats or would you rather go for the real thing?

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Food and Recipes, recipes, Sweets

6 responses to “Pumpkin Palooza

  1. I love pumpkin cookies. My mom used to make the best ones every (but they weren’t very healthy). This looks like a good alternative!

  2. I need to make those cookie! I love pumpkin cookies – they look delicious!
    I seem to do most of my baking during the holiday season. I love making cookies!

  3. I love pumpkin! Baking is also my comfort zone…It just makes you feel good!

  4. Those scones look delicious! So does that quiche 🙂

  5. Oh my heavens.. these sound delicious! You better believe I just saved this recipe 🙂

  6. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #16 | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

