Need a Challenge?

Happy Friday Eve!!!! Hang in there….just one more day to the weekend :-)!!

Let’s talk about the hot topic at hand this morning. Yep, you guessed it….the Presidential debate!!!

Well….not really. I know better than to go there but I just wanna say that no matter your beliefs, thoughts or opinions, I hope that if you are able to vote, you will. That’s all I have to say about that………

Source: someecards.com

Moving on to breakfast……..

It has been one of those mornings where nothing really sounds good, except for coffee so I went the simple route and chose the easiest thing to make.

Honey flavored Greek yogurt topped with frozen blueberries and some cocoa Love Grown granola. It may have been a quick throw together breakfast but it did a good job at hitting the spot!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Yesterday’s Workout

  • 2.50 miles, 17 min run, 1 min walk, 7 min run, 3 min cool down= 28 minutes

Yesterday while reading some of my favorite blogs, I came across one that got me really excited!! Cassie at Back to Her Roots is starting a 50 day numbers challenge. Basically, she has put together a challenge that focuses on fitness and good health WITHOUT putting emphasis on the scale. I love the idea and decided that I would join in as well. This is a great way to make sure that you keep yourself in check  leading up to the Holidays, too. If you are interested in seeing what it is all about, hop on over to her blog and take a look. If you decide to follow her challenge exactly(she has NINE attainable goals), she even has a super nifty chart that is ready to print out to get you on your way. As for me, I will be following it but with modifications. I will be making my own chart but sadly, it won’t look nearly as cool as hers.

50 Day Numbers Challenge Goals

Over the next 50 days, these are the goals I am setting for myself. If I reach these goals(ALL of them) I will then reward myself with a monetary prize of $100 to spend as I wish!!!

  • 1500 fitness minutes
  • 100 miles of walking or running
  • Plank a Day for 50 days
  • 500 pushups
  • 400 glasses of water
  • 50 days of no scale

Sounds like fun, right?!  I don’t know about you but sometimes it is nice to have specific goals to focus on, especially when it is numbers other than weight and clothing size!!!

Will you be exercising your right to vote this year?

 In what ways do you like to challenge yourself to become a healthier person?

 

 

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food and Recipes, Health, Motivation

9 responses to “Need a Challenge?

  1. I like how you’re organizing the challenge for yourself. How did you come up with numbers? Did you take previous stats of your own, and then add to it?

    Currently, I’d like to work on being more mindful about what I’m eating. I’ve had a few too many splurges lately, and I’d like to to reel that in a bit. I’m not sure how to set up a specific challenge for that . . . but I’d like to improve in this area.

    • I took some numbers from Cassie’s challenge and some of them, I decided on my own based on what I currently do now and how I would like to improve in those areas. Water for example, I am not great about drinking so I want to make sure I get 8 glasses per day, every day. Same with the pushups, planks, ect.

      As for mindful eating, you could limit yourself to no snacking after dinner for the next 50 days or no added sugars, or only allow dessert for 20 of the 50 days and mark it off as you go.

      • Good idea on limiting the number of times I have dessert. Because lord knows I won’t give them up completely! 🙂 But keeping them for special occasions is a great idea. I also like the no-added sugar thing . . . having fruit to satisfy my sweet tooth usually works like a charm. Thank you!

  2. I like the idea of doing a plank each day. It’s so short a task that I can always talk myself into doing it. Good luck with all your goals!

    As for voting, thanks for the reminder! I printed out my absentee ballot, but I still need to send it in. I always vote in presidential elections. I feel like women fought so hard to get the vote and I need to honor that by voting.*

  3. I am very adamant about voting. If you don’t vote, you can’t complain;) I try to go as natural as possible when it comes to foods. I am also traditional and old fashioned and I do cook with crisco and salt;) My grandma taught me well:)

  4. That 50 day challenge looks great – and like a great way to push yourself!
    I always vote! I may not be very involved in politics but I think it’s important to vote 🙂

  5. I didn’t watch the debate! It’s not going to change who I’m voting for. That’s set in stone. Plus, I had plenty of other things to watch on my DVR 🙂

  6. What an awesome challenge. I’ve been doing a plank a day this month.. and love it! It’s so cool to see how far you come at the end of the month! Have fun w/ it girl and good luck xo

Leave a Reply

