A Sweaty Mess

Happy Friday!!! I am especially excited about this one because it starts a three day weekend for me!! Lance has Monday off of work and my kids are out of school so we get an extra day to have some family fun. That’s what I’m talking about!!! 🙂

Of course, I don’t know how much fun parent/teacher conferences and eye Dr. appointments are but hey, we will make the best of it.

I am definitely getting a late start to blogging today. Sorry about that but after I dropped my kids off at school, I came home and hopped back in my bed. I know, lazy right!? Honestly, my tummy was feeling kind of wonky so I put my run on hold and decided to see if a little nap would help. I am happy to report that INDEED, it did!!! My stomach is feeling better….though my legs are feeling a bit sore now!!

These legs……..

led to this sweaty mess………

and this sweaty mess, just finished chowing down on this…..

Last nights leftovers made a perfect lunch. Hidden veggie spaghetti noodles topped with marinara, broccoli and a couple chickpea balls. Those balls are delicious!!! I found the recipe for them at Back to Her Roots. She used them to make subs which would be incredible but I just ate them as an addition to my spaghetti and sauce.

Breakfast

Let’s take a minute to backtrack to breakfast because it was just too good not to share!!

Pumpkin Overnight Oats

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 TBSP chia seeds(for extra thickness)
  • 3 TBSP pumpkin

This morning I simply added a drizzle of pure maple syrup and this breakfast in a jar was ready to go. It was SO SO good!!!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Before I finish this up I have to offer up a couple of “Let’s Go” cheers!! You know, I figure if I put it in writing the good luck vibes will go further…..or something like that ;-)!!!

1. Lance is playing in a golf tournament today and if his group comes in first, second or third they win 2 round trip airline tickets as prizes!!! I really want those so fingers crossed everyone brings their A game today!!!!

2. The Texas Rangers are playing in a wild card game today and because they haven’t been bringing their A game lately, I am a bit worried about them winning this one. If you didn’t notice, in the above “sweaty mess” picture I am drinking out of my lovely plastic Texas Rangers cup cause I like to think I am good luck for them and obviously that’ll do it….ha!!

3. This one goes to my good friends Chris and Brandi because last night they signed up to run in the Color In Motion 5K with Lance and I. I am beyond excited to do this as a group and even more excited that they have committed to it. They will do so well(keep training guys!!!) and I cannot wait for them to experience their first runners high after completing a race!!!

What is on the agenda for you this weekend?

What are your favorite additions to oats? Do you prefer overnight or warm oats?

6 Comments

Filed under Family, Fitness, Food and Recipes, Fort Worth Activities, recipes, vegetarian

6 responses to “A Sweaty Mess

  1. I totally prefer warm oatmeal, even in the summer. I always add lots of cinnamon, chia seeds and egg whites (for extra protein). And I like to top it off with nut butter. So good! Enjoy your weekend!

  2. My kids have a four day weekend! They have Tuesday off too! I think we’re going to go to the pumpkin farm on Monday.
    I love all kinds of oats – cold and hot – it just depends on my mood!

  3. Haha totally making those chickpea balls!

  4. Glad your stomach eased up, and you were able to get in a nice run! What a perfect way to start the weekend. Fingers crossed that the hubs won y’all some free airline tickets!!

Leave a Reply

