Pumpkin Patch and Sprinting Hills

I sure hope everyone is finding some enjoyment in the weekend!!

Mine officially started yesterday and was mostly filled with family fun! Liam had his preschool field trip and Lance, Camryn and I all tagged along since it was at a pumpkin patch. Looks like I get to check that off my Fall Bucket List!!! It was lots of fun, even if I am suffering from it today. The cold/allergies that I have going on were only worsened by all the dust and hay but you know what, I think it was totally worth it to see my kids having such a blast!!

We went to this same pumpkin patch last year so we were pretty familiar with it. As soon as we arrived my daughter insisted we head straight for the baby chicks. Awwww, aren’t they cute!!

It wasn’t easy but we managed to move the kids along to other activities, too. They did a little bit of the bounce house, tractor rides, face painting and pumpkin picking!!

They brought a couple of mini pumpkins home with them so that we could do some pumpkin painting this morning.Β  I used it as the perfect opportunity to work in some running. I set them up on the front porch, letting them paint to their hearts were content, while my heart was pounding out of my chest ;-).

You know how I am always talking about how hilly my neighborhood is. Well, I wanted to take some pictures so I could document it for you. This is the street on which I live on and this is the least hilly street that I run on. I hope this will give you an idea of why I always dread running around here.

Going uuuuuupppp the hill…..

Coming doowwnn the hill……

I wasn’t really up for a long run this morning, thanks to feeling under the weather but I didn’t want to opt out completely. While I kind of hate these hills, I also know that running up them is incredible for my legs and butt, not to mention my heart and lungs. I tend to be pretty competitive so I figured, why let these darn hills get the best of me?!

So what did I do?

Workout

  • Sprints x 8, from the bottom of the hill to the top
  • Walked x 8, from top of the hill to the bottom
  • Ran x 1 from bottom of hill to top and down again

I don’t know how long this took because I didn’t time it but I was really tired by the time I was done. I would say it was a pretty successful workout!! While I didn’t love the workout during it, I felt pretty accomplished afterwards and would like to work more of these into my weekly routine.

Saying that I was hungry after I was done would be an understatement because I was starving!!! I quickly made myself an Alternative Bagel and topped it with peanut butter, banana slices and some honey. Perfect!!!

I don’t know about you but after doing a good HIIT(high intensity interval training) workout, I find myself hungry ALL day long. Today has been no exception. Since my bagel I have also eaten an apple, popcorn and 2 tacos. Yeahhhhh, that basically did nothing for my hunger.

We are going to Fudruckers for dinner tonight so I can be pretty sure I will squash my hunger there :-). I probably won’t get a burger because they do bad things to my stomach but you better believe I WILL steal a couple bites off of Lance’s plate.

Have you been to a pumpkin patch or apple picking this year?

Do you usually carve or paint pumpkins for Halloween?

Do you like to incorporate HIIT into your workouts?

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Fitness, Fort Worth Activities, Motivation

4 responses to “Pumpkin Patch and Sprinting Hills

  1. I went apple picking for the first time ever this year. So much fun. I’ve never been to a pumpkin patch–I’ll have to do that next.

    I have to tell you, there are some beautiful pictures of you and your family in this post. What a handsome family. πŸ™‚

  2. I had a bagel this morning of the egg and cheese variety πŸ™‚

  3. Mmm LOVE fudruckers! Oh how I wish those existed out here 😦

    ps. your children are absolutely adorable. I can’t get over how much your daughter looks like you.

  4. Pingback: Fall Confidence | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

