Big Cookie Fail

Oh my goodness, I am tired!!!

Yesterday was non-stop and today is going to be much of the same. I love seeing the paint go up on the walls but man, it is work!!! I hate to keep beating a dead horse here but this cold I have is not helping matters. I need to get better ASAP!!!

I am supposed to run 3 miles today but I just don’t see how it is going to happen with all this gunk in my head and chest. I am getting a little nervous that I am going to have to pull out of my 5K this weekend. I REALLY want to do it but at this point, I feel like I am never going to get better. Normally I would push through some congestion but I have been consistently running a low grade fever and the tightness in my chest makes it impossible to breathe properly. Ugh!!! Okay…..sorry about that, my vent is now over!!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

On to that painting we did yesterday!! I am thrilled to have some paint on the walls in the kitchen. It just feels so much more homey now!!

Sorry for the blurry before photos but I just snapped them real quickly as we were taping off today. They aren’t perfect but hey, they do the job of showing what the looked like pre paint job.

Kitchen Before

Some in between pics of us hard at work…….

Kitchen After

I don’t think these pictures really capture the color very well, especially since I took them last night after the sun had gone down. I promise, in natural light it looks FAB-U-LOUS!!!

If anyone is interested in the colors, we used Behr Warm Muffin(the yellow color) and Behr Harvest Brown.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I kept dinner nice and simple last night. When I say simple, I mean no cooking for me. I stopped by the store and grabbed a rotisserie to throw on top a bed of lettuce. I added some apple chunks, dried cranberries, cucumber and feta cheese. If only every night could be that easy…..

I say it was easy but I actually ended up spending a ton of time in the kitchen last night. Between my pretty new walls and my desire to welcome our new neighbors to the neighborhood, I spent a whopping two hours baking up a couple types of cookies.

After two hours of baking, you would expect to have a big beautiful, delicious platter of cookies to offer up these new neighbors, right? Apparently NOT!!! Oh my goodness, I don’t know what happened but each batch of cookies I baked turned out worse than the next!!! Let me just say, I am pretty well known for making some darn good cookies. I have never had this happen before and I cannot figure out where I went wrong. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I used dark brown sugar instead of light brown(could that be it?) so I am at a total loss.

Now I am left with this mountain of cookies that I am too embarrassed to give to anyone.

Anyone care for an extra flat oatmeal scotchie or chocolate chip cookie?

They taste just fine, though a little more crisp than what I prefer. I hate to waste them so I guess I will freeze them and give them to my kids until they get sick of them. Eh, I don’t know….maybe I will just throw them away. Humph, what a BIG COOKIE FAIL!!!!

Do you continue to workout when you are sick or do you take it easy?

Have you ever screwed up a recipe that you are known for being really good at?

9 Comments

Filed under Decorating, Food and Recipes

9 responses to “Big Cookie Fail

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that your still not feeling well. You need to get better soon mama! Fingers crossed that today is the day for it πŸ™‚

    Ohh & I think those cookies still look great. I love crispy thin ones like this. Send em my way!

  2. Your kitchen looks great! I love re-doing a room a bit–it makes it feel brand new in a way. Hope you’re feeling better soon though. As far as working out, sometimes, I just try and work up a little bit of a sweat to get “things moving” through my system.

  3. Brandi

    The kitchen looks great, love both colors. I can’t wait to see it in person (wink,wink)! πŸ˜‰

    I had a cake pop fail last night after hours in the kitchen. Really frustrating since Maddi took them to school this morning regardless of how terrible they looked! So, sorry about your cookies, I feel ya.

    Hurry up and get better soon, I hate that your still feeling yucky!

  4. Cookies are cookies… Flat or chewy or puffy or crisp… They’re just delicious! And those cookies look perfect for crumbling on top of ice cream sundaes. Or making some kind of graham cracker-esque crust but with cookie crumbs instead. Okay, now I’m on a minor tangent. :-).

    Either way, feel better soon!

  5. I am right there with you. Ive been sick for a couple weeks and I am OVER it! Feel better! I tend to not do much when I am sick. I am a big wimp;) I also don’t think the brown sugar should’ve made much of a difference. I have had to switch the two before and haven’t had an issue…sometimes they just don’t turn out right. But yours still look yummy:)

  6. Haha I always work out when sick πŸ™‚

    It helps!

Leave a Reply

