Best Body Bootcamp, Here I Come!!

So, yesterday I told y’all that I made a last minute fitness decision earlier this week. I am super excited to tell ya that I will be joining in on Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp for the next 8 weeks. It does not officially start until October 22nd but I am beyond excited to give it a go.

I have desperately been in need of a routine and something new in my fitness world. I have loved adding running into the mix but I have been feeling lost when it comes to my weight training sessions. I really believe this is the swift kick in the butt that I need. Besides, she gives away CASH prizes throughout the 8 weeks so how can it get any more motivating than that!!! Sorry to say, it is too late to join this session but if I love it, you better believe I will do it again and let you know when it is time to register!!!

Speaking of working out, I sure hope to get a run in this morning. I am feeling SOOOO much better and can breathe pretty regularly now. Whoo Hoo!!! I love reminders not to take stuff for granted….like our health and the ability to get in a good kick butt workout!!

Of course, after that run will be MORE painting. Oh my goodness, IT.IS.NEVER ENDING!!! We only have two more rooms to paint(other than the guest bath and laundry room which will come at a MUCH later date) but they are the largest ones in the house. All I know is, I will make sure it is done before this weekend. I want to be able to relax!!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I wish I had more to share with you but hey, when you hole yourself up in the house all day, you cannot expect too much excitement. πŸ˜› (this is supposed to be an emoticon with the tongue sticking out. Hmmmm, looks like a happy face to me.)

I did manage a pretty tasty dinner if I do say so myself. And yes, even if my kids weren’t thrilled with it, I say it was good and I am the one that matters, right?!

My kids are pretty healthy eaters and don’t turn their nose up often but apparently, squash is just not their thing. Every time I make it, regardless of variety(this was carnival squash) it does not get eaten.

I found the recipe for the pork chops with a quick google search. It was called brown sugar pork chops and I thought they were pretty good. I am not a huge pork chop fan but the thin ones I don’t mind too much. Again, my daughter wouldn’t eat these either so she had a whopping two servings of green beans for dinner and that was it.

Does it make me an awful mom that I made her go to bed hungry? As we were sitting at the table I told her several times that there were no other options. She would eat what was served or she would get nothing else. I usually give in but darn it, I feel like if I spent the time cooking it, they should at least try it, which she would not do. If she tries it and doesn’t like it I will normally offer an alternative but she wouldn’t even consider it. I made my decision and I stuck to it but man did I feel guilty when she was asking for a snack at bedtime.

Do you think I did the right thing?

If you are a parent, do you make separate meals for the adults and children?

Have you ever participated in the Best Body Bootcamp? Thoughts?

14 Comments

Filed under Decorating, Family, Fitness

14 responses to “Best Body Bootcamp, Here I Come!!

  1. YAY for feeling much better!!! Good luck on your run today whenever your able to squeeze it in πŸ™‚

    Oh I don’t think you did the wrong thing. My parents would’ve done the exact same thing when my brother & I were younger haha.

  2. I have to say that I agree with what you did. I’m sure others might have a different opinion, but if a child is really hungry, they will eat! It drives me crazy to hear about women making separate meals for each kid–no wonder they’re stressed and feel like cooking is a chore! And no wonder so many kids grow up feeling like they should be catered to all the time. And I think what you prepared was within the realm of realistic expectations to at least have a few bites.

    • Exactly! They don’t have to eat it if they truly so not like it but it is a matter of respect to just try it. I would expect them to have the same courtesy if eating at someone elses house, too.

  3. Kari

    I think what you did was right – she should at least try all your hard work! Chances of her picking a healthier alternative are probably unlikely.

    Also, what do you season your green beans with? I love canned green beans (cheap and easy!) but am always trying to come up with new ideas on how to serve them!

    • Canned green beans are the only ones I like! I know they aren’t as nutritious but hey, it is better than not eating them I guess. I just season them with a bit of olive oil butter and salt and pepper usually. Sometimes I add a dash of Tony Cacheres.

  4. Serena Lero

    Get your boot camp on girl, awesome! So glad you’re feeling better. You DID do the right thing. She may have gone to bed slightly hungry But more importantly she went to bed learning that mommy cooks one meal, and it shows respect to at least taste that meal! We do not always get what we want! πŸ˜‰ I do not make my boys something else if they don’t like what is served, but I don’t always serve them what I eat :-/. It’s a habit I’d like to break from having such a silly picky eater! Love ya!

  5. Hey Suzanne,

    I don’t make seperate for them. I make seperate for me!! lol.. I make dinners they enjoy and I tweek mine. They will eat any meat I put in front of them. It is the veggies that are tough. My son will try anything. My daughter not so much. (unless there is $$ involved)! lol.. Anyway good for you signing up for bootcamp. I love bootcamps. So tough and fun. Can’t wait to hear how it goes. πŸ™‚

  6. Haha my mom always had to make me something different! Except lasagna night πŸ™‚

  7. So glad to have you join! Thanks for sharing and I really hope you love it as much as I love creating it.

  8. Pingback: Snacks and Bootcamps «

  9. I can’t wait to hear more about the bootcamp!
    I do let my kids eat something else if they don’t like what I made. I make lots of things for dinner because we all eat different things.
    If they really try it and honestly don’t like it then I’ll let them have cereal of something. The way I look at it is – I wouldn’t make something that I hate and then force myself to eat it, so why would I do that to my kids?
    If they won’t even bother trying it, then I agree – there’s nothing else.
    I think it’s different for all parents and whatever you feel is right, is right for you. But my kids are little for their ages and my older son doesn’t eat as much as he should so I am very accomdating. My husband says I’m nuts. πŸ™‚

    • If I were making something I knew they really disliked then I would make something separate for them as well. I don’t force them to eat everything I serve but I do like them to at least try it.

      Everyone is different though, and I don’t think there is a right or wrong. I have been lucky not to have picky eaters so I might be very different if I did.

  10. Pingback: Sometimes Less = More | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

