Honored Hero Run

Hey guys!!! I have resurfaced from the depths of painting hell!!! Can I just say I am SOOOOO glad to be done with that mess. My callused hands and achy back are certainly thankful, too!!

Lance and I finished painting the house on Friday so that gave me yesterday to rest up and relax before my 5K this morning. I know, I know….it is only 3.1 miles but still, I haven’t exactly been a running fool lately so I was a tad bit nervous about how awful I was going to do. However, I decided to get all that negative stuff out of my head and just have FUN with it!!! After all, it is a run that benefits blood cancer and that was most important, not whether I whooped butt with my time.

My forever friend(since High School), Nancy agreed to do the run with me when I first mentioned it about 6 weeks ago. Bless her heart, she has a VERY busy life….two kids and a husband, just bought and remodeled a house,  plus a very demanding full time job and was able to do very little training before the race. When I say little, I basically mean none at all. She hung in there and finished only 20 seconds or so after me which was incredible because I would have been tailing wayyyyyy behind!!!

Nancy asked me if I would be interested in running a half marathon with her in December but I don’t know that I am up for that kind of training just yet. Maybe I can talk her into waiting to do one in the Spring. Remember, I am pretty much a fair weather runner….Fall and Spring only, please :-)!!

The course today was actually very easy and while my time was somewhere near 33 minutes, give or take a few seconds I know I could have gone stronger and finished closer to 30 minutes if I had wanted to. It was a very comfortable run and I didn’t feel out of breath or really tired the entire time. Still, I am glad I ran with my friend because I believe it totally makes for a better experience!

After the race was finished, my kids chowed down on some hot dogs(at 9am, yuck!!) and I helped myself to a Fuze drink in Blueberry Raspberry flavor which was super tasty and only 20 calories for the entire bottle. I will be stocking up on those for the house soon!!

There was also a local nutrition company handing out post race recovery foods like trail mix and some homemade peanut butter balls. Oh man, those things were good!!!! I didn’t think to take a picture of it as I was too busy scarfing it down but they included a recipe card with it so that I can share with you.

OATMEAL PEANUT BUTTER BALLS

  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup honey or agave syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup, plain quick oats
  • 3/4 cup nonfat dry powdered milk

Directions

  • Mix the dry ingredients with the chocolate chips in a medium size bowl. Add remaining ingredients, combining well.
  • Make into one inch balls
  • Refrigerate

Serving size: 12, one inch balls

Nutrition Stats(per ball):

  • 75 calories
  • 3 grams protein
  • 11 grams carbs
  • 2 grams fat

Since I didn’t run in the t-shirt that was provided in my goody bag, I decided to sport it at home for the rest of the day. It goes perfect with my comfy pants ;-)!!

The artwork on it was actually created by a child who was going through treatment for a blood cancer. While we may have been racing for 30 or so minutes today, that is nothing compared to what so many children and adults go through on a daily basis, through the course of their treatments. They really are the Honored Heros!!!!

 

Do you know anyone that has been affected by a blood disease or cancer?

Do you prefer to run races by yourself or with a friend/family member?

5 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Fort Worth Activities, Health, Motivation

5 responses to “Honored Hero Run

  1. Awesome job today!! Looks like you had fun! Oh I am going to make those peanut butter balls! So easy:)

  2. Great Job girlie 🙂 You look so happy in your race picture! Lucky they got good pics of you – I always get ones where It looks like i’m dying haha

  3. I think that’s marvelous that you & Nancy have remained friends since high school. What an amazing bond you two must share!

    Congratulations on getting out there & running a great 5k girl.

  4. Way to go! Sounds like a great race! I love the t-shirt, too. I still have my honored hero run t-shirt from when I ran the half in 2010 and wear it often.*

Leave a Reply

