Meal Planning

Oh, how I wish it were still the weekend. I am just not ready to get going on this Monday morning. Too bad I don’t really have a choice, right?

I did start it off with quite the tasty breakfast so it could be a whole lot worse.

Yesterday, I made a quick Target run and finally found some of the Van’s waffles that I have seen so many others eating. It is actually pretty ridiculous how excited I get when I find something like that at the store. Forget being a kid in a candy store, I was a kid in the frozen food aisle!!!

I am not normally super hungry first thing in the morning but today was an exception. I was starving!!! As much as I wanted to try the waffles, I knew I needed a little protein to fill the belly.

Enter my very first Waffle-Wich!!!

Oh my goodness……….

I have found a new breakfast love!!! I topped my waffles with a little bit of Simply Fruit Strawberry jelly, my fried egg with a bit of cheese and a drizzle of buffalo sauce. Gotta love that sweet and spicy combo!!!!!

Mmmmmm, mmmmm, good!!!!

Meal Planning

I used to be great about planning my meals for the week. I would head to the grocery store with a list of what was needed to whip up five delicious and hopefully quick meals for the week. The last month or so I haven’t been very good at it so I decided it was time to get back to it. It really does make life easier, especially when you have kids or any type of extracurricular activities. Not only does it save my sanity but it saves me money and that my friends, is always a good thing!!!

Here is what this weeks menu will look like:

Monday: Healthy Fried Rice

Tuesday: Black Bean and Avocado Quesadillas

Wednesday: Grilled chicken with quinoa and Kale salad

Thursday: Chili Frito Pie(using ground turkey)

Friday: School Carnival so no cooking ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you plan your meals for the week?

How often you go go to the grocery store? I shop once per week but usually end up going back at least once for something I forgot.

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Food and Recipes, Motivation

8 responses to “Meal Planning

  1. I’m trying to be better about meal planning our dinners for the week. I always do breakfast and lunch, but tend to wing-it for dinner. However, I’ve noticed the more I plan, the easier and less stressful dinnertime is–so I’m trying to turn over a new leaf. I actually planned out a few dinners this week: the pumpkin chili I posted about on Friday, zucchini pasta, and salmon with broccoli . . . ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I don’t plan my meals (cooking for one is much easier!) but I always have some ingredients on hand so I can whip up a quick meal!

  3. Yum! I love Van’s waffles. The blueberry waffles are my all time fav!
    I don’t usually plan my meals on a weekly basis because I never know what I’ll be in the mood for! But I do try to think ahead in the morning what I want for dinner and such.

  4. I’ll have to try these. I don’t plan my meals per se, but I shop mindfully.

  5. Never plan meals. Seems stupid since I cook for one!

    I go to the store once a week for a big shop.

  6. All of your meals sound delicious!

    Another waffle-wich idea.. try it w/ jelly, fried eggs, and an apple!! So good ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

