It’s Feeling Festive Around Here

It’s back to the grind on this Monday morning!!

I don’t know about you but I am actually excited about this week. And I promise, it has nothing to do with turning 35 on Thursday. 😉

While I am not thrilled about getting older, I am more than grateful for all that I have been given in my almost 35 years. I can only hope to continue on my lucky streak for at LEAST 35 more!!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

As promised, I got my house all nice and festive looking this weekend.

Trimming the tree was quite the project! I decided to decorate it a bit differently this year, going around the tree with mesh and ribbon rather than down the tree like I did last year. Whew, it took FOR-EVER but I think it was more than worth it. Besides, listening to Christmas music non-stop for three or more hours was an added bonus!

My kids hung most of the ornaments, at least on the lower part of the tree and I had the tall man of the house hang the ones higher up.

They were quite proud of their decorating skills and so was I!!

The stockings were hung by the chimney with care…….

And the Christmas Village that my Mother-In-Law gifted the kids was set up on the sofa table.

Every time I walk into the family room, I cannot help but smile and feel happy. There is just something so magical about a Christmas tree in a dark room, lit only by the glow of the lights from the tree. Ahhhhh, I LOVE it!!!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Something else I am loving the last couple days are my green monster smoothies.

Those of you in cooler climates may think I am crazy for drinking a freezing cold smoothie in late November. The weather here in Texas has still been quite warm though, with most days in the 70’s so I can happily enjoy these delicious drinks. I love that I can get such good for me foods all down in a few slurps of the straw…especially after indulging in not so nutritious foods for a few days.

This particular smoothie included:

  • Unsweetened almond milk
  • one whole banana
  • frozen mango chunks
  • vanilla greek yogurt
  • frozen organic spinach
  • a few ice cubes to get it to the perfect consistency

I can almost betcha that I will be having another one of these today!!!!

 

Have you decorated for Christmas yet?

Do you enjoy Christmas music? What is your favorite song? Mine is most definitely, O Holy Night!!

Do you still drink smoothies in the colder months or do you save them for Spring/Summer?

6 Comments

Filed under Decorating, Family, Food and Recipes

6 responses to “It’s Feeling Festive Around Here

  1. Your tree is so pretty! I’m impressed with their decorating skills. I have a Christmas village too! So fun!

  2. Oh yeah–we decorated, we caroled . . . I’m so ready for the holiday season now! 🙂 You’re tree looks beautiful!

  3. I get to help my parents put up the tree this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

