35 Years Young

It”s my birthday y’all!!! And yes, I do expect Happy Birthday wishes from each and every one of you. I kid…I kid!!!

I thought I would be depressed about turning 35 but I have really surprised myself. I am beginning to realize that age really is just a number. I honestly feel better physically at my current age than I did when I was younger. What is it my dear friend said to me one day: Like a fine wine, you just keep getting better and better. It was kind of a joke but truly, I DO think we get better with age. Now, ask me that again when I am turning 45 and see if my answer is still the same. πŸ˜‰

Another thing I don’t miss about being younger: lack of self confidence. I have to confess, I was pretty bad about it. I constantly compared myself to others, in real life and in fashion magazines. I have made leaps and bounds in that aspect of my life and I have to say, I really kind of like myself these days!! I am far from perfect and after having two kids via C-Section my body will never be the same but you know what, I will take a scarred body with the knowledge that is has turned me into a more confident person than a “perfect” unmarked body that doesn’t like the image looking back from the mirror!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Wednesday

My sweet friend, Brandi asked if I wanted to meet up for an early birthday lunch and since I am not one to turn down good company and good food, I agreed right away. We chose a new to Weatherford restaurant called Rio Mamba. I have eaten at a different location before so I knew from previous experience that it was quite delicious and my memory served me right.

I went with the Veg-Chaladas which are cheese enchiladas(my absolute fave!!) topped with sauteed veggies. They were served with a side of re-fried beans and some really yummy Spanish rice. I made a pretty good dent in my food, only leaving a little rice behind. Hey, it was my birthday lunch, it is a MUST to eat as much as you can :-)!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

You know what I love about my family? They suck at surprises.

Yep, I actually love that they cannot keep secrets or hold onto gifts very long because I am exactly like that, too. It takes all that I have not to blurt out “Hey, I got you a gift…wanna see it?”

Soooo, when Lance came home from work yesterday the first thing he handed me was a bag from Nordstrom. I had let out some pretty serious hints that I really needed new sunglasses. I bought a cheapo pair earlier this Summer because I can’t seem to NOT break glasses(uh, actually my KIDS seem to break them) but the cheapies just weren’t cutting it anymore.

I’ve got to say, he did a pretty good job picking these out all by himself. Nice!!

Another secret….my daughter let it slip that he is bringing me home my favorite red velvet cupcake from a local gourmet cupcake shop. All I can say is 5pm, HURRY UP AND GET HERE!!!

This is what I have to look forward to this evening!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Liam and I are planning to hit up Subway for my 2nd birthday lunch today. He wanted to go on a “date” and who am I to say no. I let him pick where we were going and everything. Can you say Veggie Sub!!

To work off(prior to consuming) the cupcake I plan on having this evening, I thought I would keep with the theme and create a workout centered around my birthday.

11-29-12 Workout

11 Burpees

29 jumping jacks

11 pushups

29 Mountain Climbers

11 Squat Jumps

29 second plank

Repeat 3-5 x’s and go enjoy your day!!!

There you have it my friends!! I hope your day is as good as I plan on making mine!!

How do you feel about Birthdays? Do you enjoy them or dread them?

Favorite birthday cake flavor?

Do you like designer sunglasses or do you go for the bargain pair?

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Fitness, Food and Recipes, Fort Worth Activities, Uncategorized

8 responses to “35 Years Young

  1. Happy Birthday!! I hope you have a wonderful day!
    Your hubby did a great job picking out the sunglasses!

  2. All the best for your birthday, I hope you ll have a fab one! I hit the 35year milestone 6 months ago and apart from the I feel fit I can relate with everything that you wrote. I feel so much more confident, I know what I want, I know who my real friends are, I am pretty contempt with my life.
    By the way, I LOVE birthdays. My mom always made a big deal out of mine so I have very high expectations as opposed to hubby N. who couldn’t care less πŸ˜‰
    Favourite birthday cake must include strawberries as they are in season when I do have my bday and just love, love, love them.
    Definitely better quality sunglasses as the cheepos can really give you headache sometimes. sorry, it was a bit of a long comment. xxx, T

  3. Happy Birthday!! I hope you have a great one!

  4. Wishing you the happiest of all birthdays! I couldn’t agree more with your sentiment on aging. I wouldn’t go back if you paid me.
    Favorite birthday cake? Cheesecake. Any and All.
    Sunglasses? I’ve always had the cheapies. Seriously considering making an investment though.

  5. Happy, Happy Birthday! I got some nice Ralph Lauren sunglasses from my man on my last birthday… So much nicer than my cheap drugstore ones I had.

  6. Happy Birthday!!!! You will HAVE to tell us all about how amazing that cupcake is tonight. Holy cow–looks heavenly.

    I think turning 30 was the hardest b-day for me. Since then, I haven’t cared too much–which is a good thing. πŸ™‚

  7. Happy Birthday, again! I hope you had the most wonderful day, and the cupcake was delicious :). Love the sunglasses too by the way. Such a sweet husband you have.

Leave a Reply

