Girl Time

It is most definitely going to be a second cup of coffee kind of day. Not because I am tired but because it is COLD out there!! Currently it is sitting at 29 degrees and the high is only going to be 42. I have been asking for some cooler weather and it looks like I finally got it. I guess from here on out I had better be careful what I wish for because I am NOT loving this. In theory it sounds fabulous but in reality it kind of sucks!!

What I am loving is the time I was able to spend with my best friend, Stephenie this weekend!! She came into town for a work conference but we were able to manage a little girl time before she had to get to business.

After spending a night at my house, we headed out to Dallas to relax at her hotel. We had to make a quick pit stop at Trader Joe’s to stock up on some goodies and wine to take with us. This was Stephenie’s first trip to a Trader Joe’s and she was not disappointed.

We tore into our goodies on the drive to Dallas. The goodies, NOT the wine!! I am not sure how I had deprived myself of the Kettle Corn for this long but I have been missing out. That ish is GOOD!!!

I am pretty much rotten at snapping photos these days but I did get a couple at the hotel.

This one is looking down from the balcony of the room. The hotel we stayed at was the Hilton Anatole and it is pretty much HUGE. While it was a nice hotel, I feel like it is most definitely geared toward the business crowd. I guess that made it the perfect place for Steph to attend her conference. 🙂

They did have some fun Christmas decor set up around the hotel so like a little kid I had to jump in and have my picture taken. I mean, who can resist getting a picture with singing reindeer. 😉

After we walked around the hotel, we made our way back to our room, layed on our beds and hardly moved the rest of the night. For real. We had planned on grabbing some dinner but we were too lazy to drive anywhere so we just ordered room service. It wasn’t anything fancy(a burger) but it was good and the night was certainly relaxing.

Just what I needed in the hustle and bustle of the holiday season!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I have an empty peanut butter jar just begging to be used for some overnight oats but with this cold weather I couldn’t bring myself to eat a cold breakfast. Instead I opted for a nice big bowl of hot oatmeal. It was just what I needed….a stick to your ribs, belly warming meal to start my day!!

I cheated and used an old photo but this is pretty much what it looked like, minus the shredded coconut.

Now it is time to decide what my workout of the day will be. I am thinking it might be fun to pull out the deck of cards workout. I can always count on that to kick my butt!!!

What exciting thing did you do this weekend?

When you stay at a hotel do you order room service?

What is your favorite cold weather meal?

14 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food and Recipes, Fort Worth Activities, Uncategorized

14 responses to “Girl Time

  1. Stephenie

    Two-buck chuck!

  2. I love kettle corn!! Super yum!

  3. Looks like you had a great girls weekend! We only ordered room service once – its usually so expensive!

  4. You know, I’ve never ordered room service! I should really splurge on that sometime–sounds kinda fun. Glad you had a great weekend with your girlfriend!

  5. Do you realize the only time I have stayed in a hotel in the last oh….8 YEARS since I have gotten married that was nice enough to order room service is with you!!! I don’t get out much, my friend:-)!!

  6. Hey there, Nothing too exciting happened this weekend. Got a flu shot on Thursday and got so sick at a concert that night with my daughter. So for the next two days I had flu like symptoms! UGH! Anyway, My daughter and i love to order room service when we stay in a hotel. We go to concerts in different places and stay over because I am the worst night driver!!!! Oh love soup on a cold day. Oh and plenty of hot coffee!! 🙂 Glad you had fun.

  7. It might have been a three cup coffee kind of day for me… 🙂

  8. Look at the two of you, looking all beautiful in your purple tops =). Glad to hear that you girls had a fun time together!!

Leave a Reply

