Love, Snow and Gluttony

Well hello there day after Christmas!!! See, I am back as promised.

As much as I enjoyed my time away from the internet, I would be lying if I said I didn’t think about jumping on here a time or two to share with y’all some of the happenings in my days. However, I told myself I needed this break, not just for myself but to devote some much needed extra time to my kiddos(and shopping, wrapping and cooking!!) in the days leading up to Christmas.

And I have to say, it was a wonderful few days with Christmas being the “Happy ending”! It was such a sweet, sweet time(pun intended :-)) filled with Love, Snow and yesssss, Gluttony!!!

Starting today, I have no desire for anything that is not a fruit or veggie to enter my mouth. Seriously. I need a detox in a bad, bad way! Sweets be gone!!!

It started on Christmas Eve with the sugar cookies we made for Santa.

IMG_0893

My oh my, these things are GOOD!!! I cannot claim the recipe though as it was provided by Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers. These have got to be the best sugar cookies I have ever tasted. Light and fluffy little pillows with just enough sweetness without being overwhelming. That is…if you stop at one or two. Me? I managed to down about 5 or 6 and yep, a couple of those may have had frosting on them!!

Next up was a no yeast cinnamon roll recipe that I found at Iowa Girl Eats. I have always wanted to make homemade cinnamon rolls but the intimidation of using yeast stopped me in my attempts. Not anymore!! These babies were so flippin’ delicious and I have a feeling they will become a tradition in our house.

IMG_0918

I didn’t let my cream cheese soften enough before making the icing so while it may not look too pretty, it tasted Fan-tas-tic!!!

Other unpictured desserts I consumed were Pink Stuff(cherry pie filling, crushed pineapple, cool whip and sweetened condensed milk all combined) and Butterfinger pie. Yeah, just thinking about all of it kind of makes me want to hurl. I am SO over it!!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Christmas

And I guess I should apologize at this point because this post is going to be a bit long, I think.

Christmas in my house is really all about my kiddos!! I mean, while I enjoy the decorations and food, the real spirit(other than Jesus) comes from watching the joy that it brings my children.

We have a tradition of opening one small gift on Christmas Eve and I think it helps release some of that anticipation of opening gifts on Christmas morning. Can you tell they were quite excited about it? At least one of them!!

IMG_0883

After that it was off to bed with zero complaints or begging to stay up. They wanted to make sure Santa came and they know if you aren’t sleeping, he will skip right over your house ;-)!

They needn’t worry though because he did indeed come and they quickly tore into the gifts he left behind.

IMG_0903

IMG_0911

While Lance and I don’t like to spend a lot on one another at Christmas, we did exchange a few things but mostly we let the kids pick them out for us. They did a good job this year!

I am in love with my Vera Bradly accordian style wallet, K cup holder and La Vanilla perfume. That perfume is the best stuff EVER and what I like most about it is that I don’t know anyone else who wears it. I like to be special like that. πŸ˜‰

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Snow

When we awoke yesterday, it was to major thunderstorms with loud booming thunder and lightening. However, shortly after opening gifts the rain turned into this white stuff….called SNOW!!! It rarely ever snows here in Texas. I mean, a couple days ago it was 7o degrees so I honestly didn’t think much of the forecast. Boy was I wrong!

While it certainly was no blizzard, it was enough for the kids to go out and play in. IMG_0923

We don’t buy snow gear in Texas(at least I don’t) because normally, it isn’t even cold enough to need a heavy jacket. So yeah, I am the mom who dressed her kids in about 6 layers of regular clothes and sent them out to play. Hey, it did it’s job!!

IMG_0925

As pretty as it was to have a white Christmas, I am now ready to see the stuff melt away. I don’t like the cold and I have errands I need to run!!

Speaking of running, I guess I will finally end this post because I have a workout video that is calling my name. Yep….I can hear it now! Time to work up a sweat and get back to my groove. After all, bikini season is only 5 short months away!!!! No more EXCUSES!!!!

Did you have a white Christmas?

Did you eat too much over Christmas as well or are you better at practicing portion control?

What was your favorite Christmas gift received this year?

What is your signature perfume?

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Food and Recipes

5 responses to “Love, Snow and Gluttony

  1. this post made me smile from ear to ear! merry christmas to you and your family. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh yeah–I definitely indulged over the past few days! But like you said, I’m over it, and ready to get back into my normal routine. nbd, and my Mom’s homemade foods are well worth it!! πŸ™‚ Love the pics of the kids playing in the snow! Too cute!

  3. We actually had a white Christmas in Texas! Woo!

  4. Yup ate too much and am ok with it!! I even had another cookie and some chocolates today. Guess I am still not over it! lol.. We had a mininal white xmas in massachusetts. My son was bummed, he is dying to make frosty the snowman. On to the presents. Kids got their fill, and I got a nice bracelet and a bathrobe I wanted. So I was happy:) Glad you enjoyed your holiday. xo

  5. Looks like you had a great Christmas – I love how excited your son looks! I with you on the back to healthy eating – I’ve been eating way too many sweets!
    I love that you guys got snow! We’ve had very little so far!

Leave a Reply

