Taking it Way Back

At the same time every year, when the temps drop I quickly realize how much I love 100 degree weather and wonder how I ever complained about it?!

Seriously, I will take hot over cold ANY DAY!!! Anyone else out there feeling me on this? Bathing suit vs Parkas? Yeah, that’s a no brainer for me!!

As cold as it was yesterday, I did manage to get out of the house later in the afternoon. Any guesses what I left the house for?

Shopping!!! Of course, it wasn’t for me. No, no…it was for my kids. I happened to browse the online Target ad and saw that many toys along with lots of other stuff was 50% off so I had to go.

My kids certainly didn’t need any more toys but their grandpa sent a check for them to do some shopping so I figured we could get more bang for our buck if we shopped clearance. They both found something they loved and we were out of there pretty quickly!

I was tempted to stock up on the 50% off Christmas candy but I held strong knowing I was going to treat myself to a Starbucks drink on the way out of the store.

I have heard many rave reviews about the eggnog chai latte so that is what I went with. It was good but SO SO sweet. I like sweet things but I don’t handle sweetness in the form of drinks very well. I got a tall and I couldn’t finish it. Sadly, it left me feeling not so well to my stomach. Darn it….I wanted it to be a winner. 😦

Since I overdid it on food the last few days, I stuck to my plan to eat “cleanish” yesterday. I did pretty well at it, too!

Not that I advise skipping breakfast but I don’t really think you should eat just to eat either. I was not the least bit hungry yesterday morning so I stuck to coffee and ate lunch a little earlier than normal.

I didn’t snap a picture but I had ham(for the FOURTH meal in a row….OVER IT!!!) with some cheese and crackers. I added a couple of juicy clementines to it and boy were they good!

Dinner was a quinoa medley and while it was nice and healthy, it kind of lacked flavor. I still ate it and it did the job of filling up my belly so I am not going to complain.

Today’s Workout

I am taking it wayyyyy back in time today.

Billy Blanks. Tae Bo. Anyone remember those workouts?  I happened to find this DVD tucked back in our entertainment center for who knows how long and decided to bring it back into rotation. After I had Camryn 7.5 years ago, this was my go to workout when I needed my butt kicked good. It is a long workout, almost an hour and from what I remember, it is pretty darn tough.

I’ll be sure to let you know is that still rings true!!

**edited to add workout update**  It most definitely rings true!!! Ouch…my arms AND legs are shaking something fierce right now!!

Did you do any after Christmas shopping?

Do you prefer hot or cold weather?

Favorite Starbucks drink?

Have you ever done a Tae-Bo workout? Did you like it?

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Fitness, Food and Recipes

3 responses to “Taking it Way Back

  1. That is awesome–I used to love Tae-Bo!!! It was tough, too!

    I’m sitting here wondering if I’d like to got out for some after-Christmas shopping . . . you know, see if I can find any great steals. But I’m also kinda liking the down time, and sitting at home. Hmmm . . .

  2. My favorite holiday drink at Starbucks is a peppermint mocha. I get a grande with just two pumps of mocha (regular peppermint) and with soy milk. It cuts down the sweetness. I’m like you, I don’t like my drinks overly sweet. I’m usually hungry around 10 in the morning or that’s when my body would prefer to eat. I eat earlier though because of our schedule. So I eat just to eat 😉

  3. Ah, love when holiday gifts go on sale!! The hubs & I would always take advantage of the deals at target!

Leave a Reply

