Dance Party and Costco

I hope everyone had a great weekend. I am sure many of you are having an extended weekend which totally makes sense to me since it is New Years Eve but apparantely, the work world doesn’t quite see it that way. Lance has to work so the kids and I are just going to hang out and wait for him to get home. Fingers crossed that it happens early but being that he works in the beer business, I am thinking that isn’t going to happen! Phooey!!

How many of you have big plans for NYE’s?! We keep it pretty low key in the Riley household. I don’t get the point of getting all dressed up and spending a fortune to hang out in an overcrowded bar or restaurant so we are doing the norm and celebrating with some of our favorite friends. Chris and Brandi, here we come!!!

For the past seven years or so we have rang in the New Year with them. Well, I lie a little bit because I am usually in bed way before midnight(party pooper anyone!!!) but this year I am going to give it my all!! Even more exciting, we are having a sleepover with them…in our own room of course ;-).

I stocked up on the drinks, for the myself and the kids.

And since we like to get a little crazy, dance party style I am bringing along these Wii games that Camryn got for Christmas.

(Ignore the torn up game case. The gift givers dog was trying to keep it for herself, ha!!)

Not only will I be having fun but I will be working up a sweat at the same time. These dances are no joke! I broke a sweat several times over the weekend getting my groove on!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

After years(seriously) of debating a Costco membership, I finally broke down and paid the $55 membership fee.

I went back and forth on this for so long because I hate the idea of wasting money. And while I am not sure I will be saving money from shopping there, I definitley feel like it was a good investment. Costco is loaded with tons of organic products and the prices are very comparable to what you would pay for non organic items at the regular grocery store. So overall I feel like I will be getting higher quality products for the prices I have been paying for so-so quality.

This weekend I was able to get a FOUR pound bag or organic quinoa for $7.99. At Wal-Mart I get a ONE pound box for $4.00. Whoop, whoop!!!

The most exciting thing I found at Costco this weekend was this cool new iron!

I am telling you, this shopping trip was meant to be. My old iron decided to die on me yesterday so when I came across this for a big whopping $23 I snagged it right up. Yes people…..a new iron really does get me that excited!!! 🙂

Questions:

1. What are your plans for New Years Eve?

2. Do you like shopping at warehouse stores? Favorite items to buy?

9 Comments

Filed under Family

9 responses to “Dance Party and Costco

  1. We are staying in too with the kids this year:) We are planning games and a steak dinner. I too hate getting all dressed up. That was fun back in the day before kids. Hope you have a Happy New Year and hope Lance doesn’t have to work too late.

  2. Apothic Red is a great red wine! Love it!

    We love shopping at Costco! In fact, just went yesterday to load up on organic greens and spinach, chia seeds, frozen mixed berries, pork tenderloin (for tomorrow’s Good Luck Dinner that I’m hosting), organic chicken breasts, wine and toilet paper.

  3. I’m with you on the low-key NYE plans… I hate the pressure of doing some big and crazy! And congrats on the Costco membership :). Costco is the best, huh?

  4. Amber

    I love Just Dance 3! An hour of it can burn 400-500 calories!
    We push the clock ahead before the kids bed times and make clock cookies. Then we celebrate. I usually make a fancy dinner but I think tonight we’ll do take out. I’m not eating any in Jan so it’ll be a going away party too! 🙂
    Have a fun night!!!

  5. You party animal! Have fun tonight!

  6. I bought the same sparkling cider for my kids. I actually love it too. I found mini bottles of it at the dollar store.
    We had a Costco membership…we used it once to buy our Dyson vacuum. 🙂
    I hope you have a great New Year. I love those dance games! Have fun!

  7. Hope you & your family had a wonderful NYE!! Fingers crossed that the husband was able to come home a bit early too =)

Leave a Reply

