2013 Goals: Creating a Better Me

I hope y’all having a wonderful start to 2013!!!

I have to be honest, I am lagging a bit behind today due to a night of exceptional fun. While I more than enjoyed myself last night I am paying for it dearly today.

I should mention that I rarely ever drink so give me a bottle of wine all to myself and the end result is quite entertaining. πŸ˜‰

The evening started off with some great food!

IMG_0941

Followed by great conversation and my first glass of wine.

IMG_0936

IMG_0937

Somewhere in the time we were waiting to ring in the New Year, that one glass of wine turned into a couple more which led to me shaking my tail feather…..

IMG_0959

IMG_0958

I LOVE to dance and since we were at a house party I could be as silly as I wanted and just enjoy myself!! Oh yes, and dance in my sweats!! I quickly changed into these to make sure I was comfy as I showed everyone how to “drop like like it’s hot”!! Yes, yes….I am truly a nerd :-).

My little guy takes after his momma. He has some pretty good moves himself!

IMG_0970

It was a great way to bring in a new year, especially being surrounded by those that I love!!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

2013 Goals: Creating a Better Me

Over the last few years, I had pretty much given up on making New Year Resolutions. Like so many other people I would start them but not always follow through, winding up feeling disappointed in myself.

I feel like this year is going to be different, though. I am ready to make some goals for myself and now that I am armed with some tips on how to achieve them, I am pretty excited to be given a “fresh start” in some of the areas of my life I would like to improve upon.

Fitness

  • I want to continue working out on a regular basis, whether it comes in the form of cardio, strength training or ideally, a combination of them. I really want to get back to running semi-regularly and I am making a goal to run in at least two(start small!!) races this year. I don’t care what the distance is but I want to commit to doing something that pertains to running.

Diet

  • My focus this year is going to be on consuming less processed foods and more whole foods like fruits, veggies, whole grains and lean meats(limited amounts of meat). I know protein in essential for a healthy body but I hope to continue eating meat free a couple times per week as my body feels its best when I eat this way.
  • Portion control. While I eat pretty healthy about 70% of the time, it is the other 30% that is getting me. Not only do I tend to eat less than healthy foods at this time but I consume them in larger quantities than necessary.

Weight loss

  • Lose 8-10 pounds. I was hesitant to make this a goal for myself because I truly believe that the scale isn’t always the best reflection of living a healthy lifestyle. Still, I know that if I want my pants to fit better and to be happy with my appearance in the mirror(and pictures) a slight drop in the scale is going to be required.

Family

  • Spending more quality time with my family.

More date nights with my husband, even if that means watching am uninterrupted movie while cuddled up on the couch together.

Exercising more patience with my kids. This also includes less yelling. It is far from my best quality and I badly need to work on this. Yelling does not accomplish anything other than making me feel guilty after the fact

  • Spending more time with God. At least three(hopefully four or more) days per week I want to sit down with my study bible or YouVersion(an app for your phone) and spend 15-20 minutes of uninterrupted time reading His word and reflecting on being the person He desires me to be.

While I know life in general doesn’t always go according to plan, I have high hopes for a wonderful 2013. I am going to do my best to make it one of my best years yet and when life throws me some obstacles(it WILL happen), I will take them one at a time, thankful in the knowledge that those moments are the ones that make me a stronger person.

Questions?

Were you able to stay up until midnight?

How did you ring in your New Year?

10 Comments

January 1, 2013 · 2:22 PM

10 responses to “2013 Goals: Creating a Better Me

  1. I LOVE that you were “shaking your tail feather” last night! Too fun!

    We had a low-key NYE . . . I was in bed around 10 pm . . . I just couldn’t cut it. πŸ™‚ But that’s also because today I’m hosting my annual Good Luck Dinner: pork tenderloin, sauerkraut, black eyed peas . . . Should be a great time!

  2. I don’t really have any 2013 goals. Just do the best I can every day!

  3. Hey, I went to a party last night too, but it was soooooo boring!! I came home at 10 and watched the tube with my daughter. We rang in the new year together. πŸ™‚ You look like you have some moves! lol.. I am not sure what my goals are. Although I really need to get back to my singing and guitar. Since we got our pup, I have less time to myself. So I need to figure out when do fit it in. Exercise I am consistent. So not much to change there!:) Glad you had fun last night.

    • I didn’t know that you were musical!! You should definitely get back into it, especially if it is something you enjoy. I am an awful singer but I always wished I could carry a tune and am quite envious of those that can!

      I am looking at putting my daughter into piano or guitar lessons soon. She wants guitar, I want piano so we shall see.

      • My daughter takes piano and voice. She loves music and dancing. I think she will get in to the theatre very soon. She is such an actress if you know what I mean! lol.. Definitely sign your daughter in to piano first. The guitar is tough and a little painful on the fingers. Plus she can get comfortable with the musical notes which if she decides to play guitar later, she will be that much further ahead. πŸ™‚

  4. Ha Ha, you are too funny! Glad you brought in NY the right way.. shaking your tail feather and drinking some good wine =) =)

  5. We rang in the New Year at home with our 5 month old daughter. My husband had worked all day & I’d been up with Ella all day, so we didn’t make it until midnight. Maybe next year we’ll get a sitter, but I don’t really want to deal with a hangover and a 1 year old either!

  6. Pingback: Giveaway: Got milk?Magic Milk Straws | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

