What I Ate Wednesday #18

This will be the first day in three weeks that both of my kid are in school. I SO do not know what to do with myself. Wait a minute….I think I can figure it out! 😉

Actually, I miss having them around BUT I would be lying if I said I didn’t like the 5 hours of “me” time I will get today. I am going to start it off at the gym, with a nice little run on the treadmill, most likely followed up by a short weight training session.

After I get my exercise in, I cannot guarantee that I will be even slightly productive today. See, it is rainy and blah outside which makes me want to curl up on the couch with a blanket, catching up on my DVR’d shows while sipping some hot tea and ignoring the pile of laundry that needs to be folded.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

What I Ate Wednesday

Long time no see this around here, right?! I don’t have a good reason why I stopped doing it, other than I got lazy and didn’t want to photograph every meal and snack I ate.  Somehow, I have managed to get over that laziness so I think I will bring it back as a regular Wednesday post. How bout’ that 🙂

Sooooo, let’s get started already!

Breakfast: A serving of cereal. I think this may be the first time I have EVER eaten an exact serving of cereal. Cereal serving size is actually pretty ridiculous to me. I mean, there is no one I know that would be satisfied with a measly 3/4 cup of cereal.

Snack: Since my breakfast was pretty darn tiny, I got hungry while Liam and I were out and about running some errands. I had actually packed a Clif Z Bar but the little man begged me for popcorn and how can I resist his precious face. I couldn’t. Just as I wasn’t able to resist the popcorn he offered me up. It was a mighty tasty snack!!

Lunch: I wanted something easy that had some staying power so I whipped up a couple of scrambled “everything” eggs. I call them that because they had just about everything in them. Celery, onion, tomato, spinach, avocado and even hummus. I paired it with a small tortilla and was actually satisfied with that meal.

Snack: I have to admit, I ate this snack pretty much because I was craving something, rather than being truly hungry. What I really wanted was a cookie but I didn’t need it so I whipped up a yogurt bowl instead. Plain Greek yogurt, frozen blueberries, Kashi Go Lean Crunch and a drizzle of honey. It killed the sweet tooth and added some much needed protein to my day.

Dinner: Yum! That’s really all I can say about that. I cooked the chicken breast in the crock pot with some basic seasoning, added  a tiny pat of butter on each breast and chicken broth poured on top. The chicken was perfection. Juicy and super tasty!!! I also made a batch of sun-dried tomato and basil quinoa and threw a few green beans on top for color.

Questions:

How do you like to spend the time you get to yourself?

Favorite cereal? Do you stick to a serving size?

Popcorn: Buttered, plain or sweet?

13 Comments

January 9, 2013 · 6:13 AM

13 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday #18

  1. I agree that cereal serving sizes are really small. Enjoy your time today!

  2. I dont think I have ever measured the serving size for a bowl of cereal! Your yogurt snack looks delish! And I am definitely with you on snuggling up to the couch with tea and the DVR…..while the laundry sits in the other room, ha!

  3. ..&& you now have me craving popcorn.

  4. When I was younger, I would pour a bowl of cereal, eat it… and then keep filling the bowl up until all of the milk was gone. Those were the days :).

  5. Amber

    His preschool is 5 hours? Tristans is only 3.
    Your dinner looks SO good right now! Im sucking down my morning juice. Might have to up my carbs because man I’m craving them!
    These days alone time is a nap! I can’t wait to sleep all night some day!
    I don’t like cereal usually but popcorn I love! Extra butter or with chocolate chips and nuts! Yum!!! Now I want to go to the movies! 😀

  6. Time to myself? Boy, that rarely happens. So when it does, I enjoy it being QUIET. I’ll read blogs or write up a post of my own, read a magazine or do some organizing (it’s so therapeutic for me!).

    So, about cereal. I don’t like it. I know that makes me weird, but I’m just not a fan. I probably haven’t eaten a bowl of cereal in years! There are so many other things I’d rather eat. Like . . .

    Popcorn is my favorite snack!! We make it in an air popper all the time. And then, I’ll drizzle EVOO or coconut oil over top with a dash of sea salt. Now I’m craving it just thinking about it!

  7. I love Target popcorn…and the icees! I think the cereal serving sizes are crazy too! That’s why I started eating the Special K Protein. A serving size is only 3/4 cup, but it has 10 grams of protein, so I feel fuller a little longer. I usually have fruit with it!

  8. I love love love cinnamon toast crunch, and I buy the organic Mama’s Best version at Kroger so I eat more cuz organic means no calories right? RIGHT?!

  9. I think it’s impossible to just eat one serving of cereal!

  10. i love greek yoghurt bowls like that – they always hit the spot for me!

  11. So I completely screwed myself! I finally have the kids full time school. I work part time (15 hours). So I was pumped to get free time to go have coffee, shop, read, sing and play guitar, clean (had cleaning ladies let them go because of more time), and what do I do??? Get a freakin dog!!! Now I have like 2 hours to myself a day and I can’t get a freakin thing done. UGH!!!! Thx for letting me get it out!! lol..

Leave a Reply

