Hard to Breathe

I think it is pretty safe to say that I am glad to leave the weekend behind.

If you happened to miss it, my beloved dog Ozzy, passed away on Saturday. He had been battling cancer for almost a year and on Saturday morning it was very obvious to me that it would be our last moments spent with him.

Even with two kids in my house, it seems quiet around here and I miss that little guy constantly being under my feet in the kitchen. He was always hoping to catch a crumb!!

Here is to hoping that this week will be filled with some happy moments as I have had my fill of being sad for a while!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Workout

One thing I did accomplish this weekend was my long run.

Yeahhhhh, my long run is only 3.5 miles but let me tell ya, I worked hard to finish every last step of it. Every year at the same time, my asthma decides to rear its’ ugly little head and this year has been no exception. Darn it. It really makes it hard to breathe and get in the kind of workout I want.

After my run yesterday, I helped refuel with this deliciousness.

I am always tempted to buy a box of these Kind Bars but I stop myself because I know I will eat more than one a day. Know thyself(it’s a great rule for weightloss!!!)

I am not sure if I mentioned it but as part of my wanting to run more in 2013, I decided to shoot for running a 10K at the end of February. A 10K is a big deal for me because if I remember correctly, I have never run more than 5 miles at a time. Running does not come naturally for me. While I love the feeling I get after I am done, it is a struggle for me to build up mileage and even more of a struggle to build up speed. Right now, I am concentrating on mileage and even if I finish at a snails pace, I will feel accomplished.

By the way, I started a new Workout Log Page if you want to keep up with what I am doing each week. Or if you just want to be nosey. Kind of like me ;-)!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Sunday Dinner

Can I just say that last nights dinner was AMAZE-BALLS!!! It was so good in fact, that I forgot to take a picture of it which is just a sad, sad thing. I even went to another room and brought my camera to the kitchen specifically to take a picture and I forgot. The damn meal smelled so good that I couldn’t help myself!!!

Anyway, it was a knock off of a meal I have been coveting over at Tina’s blog, Carrots N Cake. It is called Loaded Baked Potato Chicken Salad.

 

 

That is Tina’s picture by the way!!

I changed it up quite a bit because I added steak rather than chicken and she makes it with Brussel Sprouts(which I will try!!) and I made it with broccoli. However, what really makes this dish is the sauce. To.Die.For.

My husband was still raving about the meal when he went to bed last night. No kidding. Whichever ingredients you choose to make this dish with……it doesn’t matter. Just make it!!

Something else I did last night was a little but of batch cooking. Weight Watchers Style!!

They have a ZERO point soup that I have seen floating around Pinterest and I decided it was time to give it a try. Look, I like to eat but while I am watching calories, I don’t always get to fill up to my liking. With this soup, I can have a nice filling cup full along with some quinoa or other protein source and call it good.

Besides it is freezing cold here this week and soup always does a good job of warming up the insides!! 🙂

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I have to hurry out of here this morning. It is my daughter’s day to provide her classroom with snack and I totally spaced and forgot to buy it this weekend. Oh well, what is one more thing to add to a hectic morning?

I think we should take bananas for snack and she is set on Cheez-It’s because apparently, that is the only thing the kids will eat. Really?

If you run, what is your favorite distance?

Do you prefer to run for speed or distance?

Chicken, Steak or just Veggies?

13 Comments

January 14, 2013 · 7:05 AM

13 responses to “Hard to Breathe

  1. Great job on your run! I am the same way – I am NOT a fast runner. The longest I’ve ever run/walked was 10 miles about a year and a half ago, and it took me over two hours.
    I hope you decide to run a 10k – just running it is an accomplishment!

  2. Great job on your run. I just started jogging a few weeks ago and the most I have ever gone without walking is 2 miles and that was a big accomplishment for me. Running does not come easy for me, but I feel like I get a good work out with it.

  3. I’m so sorry about your sweet pup. Anything like that can really make for an emotionally taxing weekend. I’m glad you had some good food to comfort you :).

  4. I love to run–it’s my favorite form of exercise. Unfortunately, my body doesn’t always agree, and can act up with all sorts of different aches and pains if I do too much too often. So, I’ve learned the hard way that cross training is best . . . and I mix running in between. 🙂

  5. Great job on your run girl!! By the end of February you will be SO ready for the 10K. Keep it up 🙂 🙂

  6. RIP Ozzy – hope you are doing okay 🙂 You are in my thoughts and prayers!

  7. Hate running, but everyone once in a while I will do a race for the hell of it! I like chicken, steak and veggies. Love the ww soup too. My mom used to make it all the time when she was on the program. I might have to have her make it for me again. I hope you and your family are doing ok. 🙂

  8. Oh no! I’m so sorry about your puppy 😦 If it makes you feel any better, I consider the 3.5 mile run a long one, too! I prefer speed all the way. I think I just get really, really bored running distances – or maybe I think about it too much? Either way, I’m not a runner “lover”!

  9. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #19 | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

