What I Ate Wednesday #19

There are 62 days until Spring. Let the countdown begin!!My oh my, I am not feeling this cold weather we are having and will face for another 6 weeks or so. I understand, I probably shouldn’t complain being that we only get two really cold months out of the year(and by cold I mean days in the 30’s and 40’s…brrrrr!!!) but I am already WAY over it.

For those who live in the North, bless your hearts because I have NO idea how you do it. I mean, how are you not depressed all Winter long? And if you have kids, what in the heck do you do with them when it is too cold to go outside?

Alright, enough of that little weather tantrum. Moving on to other things….like what I ate yesterday!!! And let me just tell ya, I was tempted to eat a whooooole lot more due to my dreary mood but somehow I managed to stay pretty well in range. Must have something to do with that little thing called Diet Bet that I signed up for!!!

WHAT I ATE WEDNESDAY

Breakfast

What else can you start your morning with when it is freezing outside? A hot bowl of oatmeal with banana, almond butter and pecans mixed in pretty much hit the spot.

Oh, did I mention my daughter had a 2 hour school delay due to the weather? I know, I know…..enough about the weather, already 😉

Lunch

I ended up eating my breakfast later than normal so I didn’t feel the need for a morning snack. However, when lunch came around I was really looking forward to it. I ate a cup full of Weight Watchers zero point soup along with some sun-dried tomato and feta quinoa.

That is some good stuff y’all!!!

Afternoon snack

Here is where my desire to start stuffing all kinds of good tasting(but not necessarily good FOR you) food into my mouth. I started off with a dark cherry Chobani yogurt with a little Kashi mixed in.

That didn’t do the trick so I helped myself to a few of my daughters Keebler M&M cookies(not pictured) and while those were exactly what my taste buds wanted, I thought better than to keep loading them into my mouth. Instead, I made myself a cup of my favorite green tea, Candy Cane Lane and that finally satisfied me for the afternoon!!

Dinner

I am starting to realize that I really, really, really like how chicken tastes when it is cooked in the crock pot with just a touch of chicken broth to keep it moist! I don’t like baked chicken at all because for some reason it tastes funky to me. I don’t know, it is just very chicken-ish. Anyone else know what I mean?

After cooking a couple chicken breasts in the crock pot on low for 4 hours, I took them out, topped them with a touch of BBQ sauce, cheese and a sprinkle of bacon and stuck them under the broiler for about a minute. Just long enough to get everything all melty. When they came out of the oven, I added some avocado and voila, that was dinner.

Served with another cup of Weight Watchers soup. I am telling you, that soup is super tasty and does a great job of filling up the tummy!!! And if I am being honest, it makes you just a touch…uh…gassy, too. That would be the cabbage, my friends :-).

Questions?

Do you have tricks you use to keep yourself from snacking needlessly?

What is your favorite season of the year?

11 Comments

January 16, 2013 · 7:13 AM

11 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday #19

  1. I love summer! I would be happy if today got into the 40’s!! I’m jealous!

  2. only 62 days?!! yes! I don’t mind winter that much, surprisingly 🙂 I think it’s because I love living in 4 really different seasons, must be the midwestern girl in me! Your chicken looks great! I like the avocado addition.

  3. I’m counting down the days to spring too. Here in California, our 40* weather is making headline news- we’re such babies! I love the idea of that quinoa dish. I want to recreate it next week :).

  4. 62 days!!! Eek, that’s longer than I’d hope for. 😦

    Will you collect up the tips you receive and post them?!? I could use them, too!

  5. This morning it was 19 degrees…feels like 9 degrees! I hate it – I really don’t like the winter, but I love the summer. Do you know what drives me crazy? At Jaden’s bus stop there are kids without hats or clothes on every day. It makes me so mad! It’s 9 degrees outside – how do you not put a hat and gloves on your child?!
    Anyway, looks like you did good with your eating. I get so snacky in the afternoons, and its hard. At least you stopped at only a few cookies – that’s good! I try not to keep the junk food in the house, but it’s so hard with kids.
    I was craving chocolate the other day, so I had one reese’s peanut butter cup and then tried to distract myself so I wouldn’t eat more.
    You’re doing good! And sorry for the longest comment ever 🙂

    • Afternoons are the worst for me, too…even if I have a bigger lunch. I think it is habit. I also get a bit snacky after dinner which I have been trying to stop doing. I figure if I can just get through a couple weeks of less snacking, it WILL get easier. I am determined to win with this Diet Bet thing!!

  6. I’m ready for spring too! It’s been cold in Dallas!

  7. Oh Yes here in the North we are pretty much cold for like 7 months! lol. snow today. Not too bad. Although I hate shoveling!!! I am always snacky, but tend to find some healthy alternative to keep me in check! I know that ww soup is soooo good. Yes gassy is a good word for it! lol…

  8. On my way to you home right now to enjoy all of your delicious meals 🙂

Leave a Reply

