High Expectations

Is this a three day weekend for you? Not to rub it in if it’s not BUT it is for me and I couldn’t be more excited about it!!:-)

First I’ll give you a little recap of my weekend. Nothing major, but there were a couple events that stood out.

Friday

Workout: 2 mile run– It was a short one but I didn’t struggle one bit with my running. Probably because the weather was so nice. I love to run outdoors when it is sunny with temps in the upper 40’s to 50’s.

Friday also included a date night with the hubs and some friends.

IMG_1094

IMG_1102

We kept it pretty simple and hit up a local seafood place called, Fish Creek. It was good but nothing that I was over the moon about.

I got one fish, one shrimp taco and ordered jalapeno cheese grits as my side. Those were actually pretty darn yummy. However, messing up cheese grits would be pretty hard to do!!

Mostly it was just the service that was a bummer. I have pretty high expectations of service when I go out to eat. Just like I am sure the servers have pretty high expectations that I am going to leave them a fair tip. Lucky for them we always do but you know, it can leave a pretty bad taste in my mouth. How do you like that pun?!

I’ll probably give them a second chance but two strikes and you are OUT!!! šŸ˜‰

Saturday-Ā  It was just one big giant mish mash of family stuff. Camryn had a basketball game and we had two back to back birthday parties. I wouldn’t call it exciting but you know, those are the things you do when you have kiddos. Overall, it was a fun day, just not one that was full of pictures y’all would care about seeing.

However, when I got home, I had this waiting for me in my mail box!!

IMG_1124

I like my other Brooke Burke video so much that I had to order this one when I saw her marketing it on all the morning news shows. Not to mention that I have a pretty bad addiction to workout DVD’s!!

I haven’t done this one yet(that is coming later this morning) but I did kind of glance at it to get an idea of what it will be like. For the most part, I am going to say it is aimed at more of a beginner/intermediate level but the moves look fun and most of them are different than stuff I normally do. It will be fun to throw into the mix here and there, especially on days you don’t really feel like being active.

Sunday

Workout–Ā 4 mile run

Running is finally starting to feel a bit easier. The four miles on Sunday felt just as easy as the two on Friday so I was pumped about that! Again, I really think it has everything to do with the weather. It was in the mid 50’s and absolutely beautiful when I went out so I truly enjoyed every second of my 43 minute run. Hey, I didn’t say I was getting any faster…….

I used Sunday to do a little bit of baking as well. This time, I made up a super healthy batch of “breakfast cookies” that I found at 100 Days of Real Food.

IMG_1113

While the recipe didn’t call for it, I did end up adding about 2 TBSP of dark chocolate chips because I wanted to make sure my kids actually ate the cookies. So instead of calling them Maple Pecan Breakfast Cookies, I am calling them Maple Pecan and Chocolate Breakfast Cookies!!

They were a huge hit in my house so I WILL be making them again!!

The best part: Other than the chocolate chips, the only other sweetener in these cookies are 3 TBSP of maple syrup. I love them!! Now go make them and let me know if you love them, too! šŸ™‚

You want to know what else happened yesterday?

My husband decided to hang a new chandelier in the breakfast nook area. Sounds awesome, right?! Well, I guess it is but what isn’t so awesome is this nice big crack in my ceiling!!!!

IMG_1120

Yeahhhhh, my 210 pound husband slipped while he was up there and his big ol’ size 11 shoe come crashing down. I was NOT happy about it to say the least but what are you gonna do? Accidents happen(but only to other people….teehee) and I know it could have been MUCH worse, like his whole body could have come crashing through!!

I guess this is one we will keep for the memory books. In the meantime, I have nicknamed him Clark, from National Lampoons!! You know the scene where he crashes through the ceiling…….ah, that is some funny stuff!!!! šŸ˜‰

Questions?

How often do you you go out for date night or girls night?

For me, not nearly enough!!

What celebrity do you look to for body inspiration?

Brooke Burke looks pretty fabulous to me!

10 Comments

January 21, 2013 · 7:49 AM

10 responses to “High Expectations

  1. Hi!
    Date nights are far and in between…. and they usually end up as a group. We need to be better about “just us” dates!
    celebrity inspiration? Kelly Ripa, and more so andrea ager…because she is my height and same build I guess, but she is like a crossfit celebrity.. does that count? šŸ˜‰

  2. I love your date night outfit! That blazer is adorable. What a bummer about that ceiling crack, haha! Hopefully it’s an easy fix.

  3. Gotta love a date night out!! We need to do that more often–although we’re pretty good about planning date nights in. I’ll make a nice meal and we’ll watch a movie or something–making sure to commit to not being sucked into our computers. šŸ™‚

  4. Sounds like you had a great date night – too bad about the service though šŸ˜¦ Those breakfast cookies look amazing!!

  5. Sounds like you & your husband had a fabulous date night. LOVE the black blazer you were wearing.

  6. Pingback: My Favorite Day This Week | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

