My Favorite Day This Week

Can I just say I am ecstatic that it is Tuesday! Yes, yes I am.

Why you ask? Well, my Monday was pretty rough. My yesterday revolved around a VERY sick little boy. Since I was busy cleaning non-stop vomit(yeah, pretty gross!!!) I didn’t get much done at all. I ate when I could, took 10 minute naps when I could(since I didn’t get any sleep the night before) and did LOADS and LOADS of laundry.

Since today seems to bring health with it(fingers crossed it stays that way), I am deeming it my favorite day this week. At least so far! πŸ˜‰

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Breakfast

I have been toying with the idea of giving up dairy, just to see how my body feels without it in my system but I can’t seem to do it just yet.

The culprit: My much beloved yogurt bowls.

This one included a vanilla Greek yogurt, blueberries, 1/4 cup of Special K protein cereal and a dash of cinnamon for some extra flavor. After I stirred it all up, I also added a breakfast cookie to the mix. Those little suckers are so good!!!

Since Greek yogurt and teeny bits of cheese are really the only dairy I consume, I think I will work at just keeping it in moderation. Instead of eating it everyday, I will aim for just a couple days per week and see how my skin and stomach seem to like that. I have never been one for cutting out entire food groups anyway.

Workout

I tried out my new Brooke Burke 30 Day Slim Down video today and I really liked it.

Is it super hard core? No, it isn’t. However, it is lots of fun, very motivating(just look at her!!!) and in 28 minutes I got a pretty decent calorie burn in at 200 calories. I then did 20 minutes of the “toning” portion and burned another 65 calories. The toning part was definitely not challenging enough for me but it did offer some good exercises in balance and abs, both of which I can always stand to work on.

Overall I give this video a 7 out of 10.

Lunch

I wasn’t in the mood to do any cooking this afternoon and since it is nice and warm outside(hello 65 degrees!!) I thought a smoothie sounded awesome!!

Chocolate protein powder, 1 banana, 1 TBSP homemade peanut butter, spinach and almond milk all blended up make a mighty fine and filling lunch!! Especially when you add a few carrot sticks and hummus as a side dish. Yummo πŸ™‚

And now, I think my little guy and I will go hang out on the back porch and enjoy the gorgeous day. Fresh air always does a body good!!!

Questions?

Is there a certain food group you have given up? Was it for health reasons?

What is your favorite protein powder?

I have been thinking of trying a brown rice protein powder like Sun Warrior but I am curious as to how it tastes. Too bad we can’t sample before we buy.

11 Comments

January 22, 2013 · 12:52 PM

11 responses to “My Favorite Day This Week

  1. omg, Sunwarrior protein powder is my favorite. It easily mixes with water, almond milk, whatever. I’ve baked with it and use it in smoothies all the time. It’s the best tasting protein I’ve ever had. Try contacting them to request a sample. I’m pretty sure I did that a few years ago. I just said taht I wanted to try their product before buying a big bag, and they sent me a little packet to test out. πŸ™‚

  2. Crystal

    Hope your son feels better! I hate when they vomit you feel so bad for them it’s awful! I love spiru-tein protein powder in the chocolate peanut butter swirl flavor so good!!! How did you make our homemade peanut butter I wanna try that πŸ™‚

  3. 65 degrees there today?! Jealous! We’re at a whopping 10 right now πŸ˜‰ Hope your son is feeling better!

  4. Yay for healthy Tuesday! Your blueberry swirls in the yogurt look very pretty…now I’m hungry! I like ON protein but would not say it’s my favorite…I like to try different kinds.

  5. My Monday was rough too 😦

    No dairy? I’d die.

  6. I hope your son feels better! I hope you don’t get sick too!
    That yogurt bowl looks delicious – i might have to try it!
    I tried giving up dairy once and it didn’t last long. But i also don’t eat too much dairy – just yogurt and some cheese. I don’t think i could ever give up Greek yogurt forever – its my main source of protein!

  7. I hope your son feels better soon! Your smoothie looks SO yummy! I might have to try that and make it Paleo, by adding almond butter and egg protein powder! My husband and I are doing a 30 day Paleo challenge right now. We have been on it for two weeks and so far so good, but I miss dairy! It has been so hard to give up feta cheese (since I love to add it to salads and roasted veggies) and milk in my coffee. I love to make a latte every morning, so using almond milk is just not the same. I’m not a fan of giving up food groups either, but I wanted to see what all the hype was to the Paleo way of eating and see if I could truly not eat a food group. We are managing, but I don’t think I could continue eating this way forever.

  8. Great to hear that Tuesday treated you much better! I’m a HUGE fan of Myofusion Probiotic πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

