The Metabolism Slump

As much as I don’t want to face it, I think I might be starting to experience the mid 30’s metabolism slump. Boo!!!

In the last year, I have most definitely noticed that losing weight and keeping it off is becoming more and more difficult. In the past, I could simply cut my carbs and count my calories for a couple weeks and BAM, those unwanted few pounds would be banished. Well, let me tell ya, it simply isn’t that easy anymore!!

I have been counting my calories the last few weeks and staying in my calorie range( or pretty darn close) most days of the week but the scale is moving slooooowly. On a positive note, at least it is moving but gosh darn it, I want to see it move a bit more quickly. Sigh.

I won’t let myself become overly discouraged though because that never did anyone any good. I am just going to have to get a bit more strict with my diet by eating more whole foods and less of the processed stuff. It seems that calories are not created equal, at least not to this body.

Getting older sucks!!!! 😉

Speaking of healthy foods, let’s get to breakfast this morning.

It doesn’t look too pretty but you know what they say, “Never judge a book by it’s cover”. The same can be said for this yogurt bowl.

In the mix was: 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt, 1/2 scoop chocolate whey protein, 1/4 cup blueberries, 1 TBSP Pb2, 1/4 cup oats and a sprinkle of chia seeds. It was quite delicious and really filled me up. I think I will make it to lunch just fine!!

I got up extra early this morning at 5:45am. That was about 30-40 minutes before my kids and it is amazing what I have been able to accomplish. Drinking my coffee in the dark and silent morning was incredible!!! I also got my workout in, daughter fed and off to school and my house cleaned all before 8:30am. As hard was it is to drag my butt out of bed so early, I think I need to make it a habit!!

Backing up a bit to last night……..

Dinner

I crushed a craving for Mexican food all in the comfort of my own home last night AND kept it pretty darn healthy!!!

That huge plate of nachos only ended up being 550 calories. Maybe that sounds like a lot to some of you but if I were to have this at a Mexican restaurant, this would easily be double if not triple that amount!

The beans you see buried under the meat and salsa, well…those are homemade!! I found the recipe at 100 Days of Real Food and they are divine. I don’t think I will be buying the canned stuff anymore. The only ingredients in my beans were BEANS!!! A bag of pinto beans is cheap, cheap, cheap(under $1.00) and it makes a large enough portion to freeze some for future meals.

After dinner, I took the kids out on an evening walk.

Getting some extra cardio in was my motivation. Pushing 100 pounds uphill in that jogger is no joke!!.  My glutes were feeling it for sure!! I could have stayed out all night because it was incredibly beautiful. It was near 80 degrees yesterday and I wanted to soak up every last bit of warmth. :-). Fortunately for me(minus the rain today) the weather forecast looks like it will be nice and Spring like for a good 7 days or so. That to me = happiness!!!

Questions

Do you tend to lose weight quickly or is it a struggle for you?

Do you watch calories, carbs or other macros or do you just try to make healthy choices?

Favorite cheat  treat food?

12 Comments

January 29, 2013 · 10:19 AM

12 responses to “The Metabolism Slump

  1. Let’s not talk about the mid-30’s metabolism slump. I refuse to acknowledge it! lol. But maybe it’s just a little rut or plateau that you’ve hit. Sounds like you’re on the right track to kick things into gear though!

    My treat/cheat food is fro-yo. Making my own concoction at a self-serve place is one of my favorite splurges. Yum.

  2. Amber

    One month, 1200 calories, tracking almost everyday, 40%-80% raw, 90% clean, working out, 3-7 days a week. Pounds lost… ZERO!!!
    Not a happy lady! 😦

    • Really?! Have you measured to see if you are losing inches? I feel like my pants are getting slightly looser but then again…I have worn them a couple times without washing so……..

      • Amber

        Haha! That’s funny, I was just thinking how my pants were falling off me but then I remembered I was on day 3!
        :-/
        I havent taken my measurements. Tristan lost my measuring tape! But I don’t think ive lost. I’ve blamed it on detoxing, bloating, muscle gain but personally I just think my body is being stubborn!

  3. Jeeeez, that stroller looks heavy. That much be why all moms have killer muscles!

  4. I am the same way – I can’t seem to lose much more weight. I wondered if maybe I needed to eat more calories or maybe less calories. I workout a lot, so maybe I’m not eating enough.
    Then I though maybe my body is just at a weight where it’s comfortable. You’re thin, and maybe your body is where it wants to be!
    Love the stroller – that must have been a good workout!

    • My body had better not get too used to this weight because I refuse to let it be my comfortable weight, lol! While I don’t have a ton to lose, I could definitely stand to lose 5-7 pounds just to have a little wiggle room.

      As for you, 4 pounds lost last week is great progress!!

  5. I think 550 calories for dinner is perfect! And go you for getting up that early plus doing allll of that before 8:30! Your kids are adorbsies!

  6. Sounds like you’ve hit a little plateau. I’ve heard if you change up your workouts & variety of foods, that’ll help 🙂

  7. Pingback: Clean Eating: A Family Affair | Fit Minded Mom

Leave a Reply

