Not The Picture of Health

If you have come to my blog looking for healthy meal ideas today, run fast because you sure aren’t going to find them here today!!!

Yep, today, I am far from the picture of health, in more than one way.

Yesterday, I woke up with what felt like needles being stuck in my throat and a horrible earache. I am like a 5 year old when it comes to sickness. Any time I get a cold or sinus infection, I get a nice little ear infection to go along with it. I swear I have a five year old living in this 35 year old body. Ha!! I am awful about taking medicine, especially cold medicine because truthfully, it makes me feel worse than the cold. This time was certainly NO exception. It was all I could do to drag my butt out of bed this morning and I have been fighting my Zombie like state ever since. Yawnnnnnn!!!

On top of that, my appetite is really low but when I do eat, it is comfort-ish, foods. You know….toast and peanut butter, Greek yogurt……

I know, you are thinking, “What is wrong with those foods?”.Β  Nothing, nothing at all.

Except, I wasn’t finished yet. ;-). I forgot to add in the sweet potato tater tots and large diet coke from Sonic.

You know, I might feel a little bad about it if I weren’t feeling so crummy but today it was what I wanted and I went along with it!! Tomorrow I can go back to stuffing lean protein in my mouth……maybe!!

I did manage to resist one of my favorite kinds of candy EVER when I went to Walgreens to pick up some pain medicine.

These Cadbury Mini Eggs are soooooo freakin’ delicious!!! I will help myself to a package or two sometime before Easter but I didn’t just have to have them today. I will wait until my taste buds are in perfect working order so that I can enjoy every little chocolate coated egg in that package!!! πŸ™‚

Workout

I did manage to get a workout in but I certainly didn’t give it 100%. I would say more like 70% effort but considering that it was level 3, 30 Day Shred, 70% still worked up quite the sweat. And I can tell you that if Jillian makes you angry when you are feeling good, she will definitely turn into your enemy when you aren’t feeling so hot!!

Randomness

I have learned as a mom to bite my tongue when saying the words, ” I will never“.

Let’s see how many times I have had to take those words back…..

  • I will never let my kid eat sweets for breakfast
  • I will never let my kid sleep in my bed
  • I will never yell at my kids like that mom does
  • I will never let my kid act that way in public
  • I will never let my kid keep a paci until they are over two years old

And the lastest: I will never let my kid own a Power Wheels. Those are for lazy kids.

Here is the thing. I do think children should be outside, running around playing, riding bikes and expending energy. And you know what, both of my kids do, on a very regular basis!! My son has an obsession with trucks and last weekend, he played on one of these at his friends’ house and he was over the moon about it. When we saw an incredible deal on Craigslist, I just couldn’t pass it up!!! We are calling it an early birthday present(he turns 5 in March).

However, as much as he loves this new toy, I WILL make sure it is not the only thing he plays with. Like everything in life, moderation is key so he will still be getting just as many miles out of his bicycle as he will he F150!!!

Questions:

Do you ever eat fast food? If so, which is your favorite place?

I will be honest, I DO love Chick Fil A and Sonic but it is quite rare that I eat there. As much as I love it, my body does not!!

Favorite Easter Candy?

Did you enjoy riding your bike and playing outside as a kid?

I was a total tomboy and was constantly outside. Bike riding, tree climbing and dumpster digging were my activities of choice…ha!!

11 Comments

Filed under Family, Fitness

11 responses to “Not The Picture of Health

  1. Oh my gosh – those eggs are my all time favorite candy too!! I had the mini bag in my hand at Target today and I put it back! I will eat a bag before Easter though!!
    I hope you feel better soon!

  2. I rarely eat fast food, but after a long night, nothing beats a Taco Bell Crunchwrap Supreme. Total junk food perfection! My favorite Easter candy has to be those little Whopper Robin Eggs… Mmm.

    P.S. Feel better!!

  3. My favorite fast food, hands down, is Chipotle. It’s such a treat when we eat there (which really only happens when we’re traveling or something). Their guacamole is the best ever. Hope you’re feeling better!

  4. Fast food is one thing I won’t eat. Gave it up several years ago and haven’t had it since!

  5. Ohh….I love junk food…burger and fries do it for me….but I don’t let myself indulge often…my husband and son have both very high cholesterol levels and I ve had my thyroid removed so junk food is a big no no for this family..

  6. The rare times I do eat fast food I instantly regret it when my stomach can’t handle it! Although taco bell’s crunch wrap supreme has come through my mouth after a night out every blue moon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

